We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have choice , stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menzies Guest House
Ranked #265 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“If you have choice , stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Rooms are big,House itself with great potential, but very run down. Bathroom looked like a cave with no space to turn around. Clean, but everything very old, Bed throws need urgent washing, bad smell from carpets I guess. There was a friendly hungarian girl working there, seems like she is the only taking care of all B&B. I Dont recommend staying in Room 1, as you will hear and see owners family living next door in kind of living room-office with the doors opened all the time. Owner was friendly and smiling , but didnt show much interest in taking care of guests, just collected the money as soon as we moved in.We tried to stay as much time as possible outdoors. Breakfast room was nice, but products the cheapest you can get. You could argue it is cheap stay at £55 per room, but we got much better quality, 5* stay in Stirling for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaxxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

stayed there for two nights. we requested a triple room with private bath but ended up having a triple room with shared bath. it was okay as the bathroom (shared) was right next to our room. there was a short queue in the morning but since i woke up quite early, it wasn't much of a problem.

the room was cozy. the sheet was clean, bed was comfortable and fresh towels given to us every morning. we had a small basin with mirror in the room too.

the location was quite convenient. we took a bus from the train station to the B&B. the breakfast was hearty. we had a choice of continental breakfast or english breakfast. english breakfast consisted of eggs, fresh mushroom, beans and tomato. the continental breakfast had a selection of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and homemade bakery. the dining room was cozy and reminds me of home.

the staff were very VERY friendly. they helped us with the luggage. also, as we had to catch the 8.30 am train in the morning on the day of departure, we would miss breakfast. so they prepared something small for us the night before hand so we wouldn't leave on an empty stomach (which consisted of fresh fruit and yogurt). we were surprised at how thoughtful and sweet they were. the breakfast was brought to our room the night before (the staff took it to our room when we came back, so i suppose she was waiting for us to come back). very sweet.

i would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

i found this guesthouse very clean and nice and cosy. the room was cleaned every day and it was quite spacious. the shower was also cleaned every day and although it was tiny it was very very clean. The breakfast was quite adequate - you have a choice: either a typical scottish breakfast or the continental type.
the location is excellent, right near the meadows and a few minutes away from the centre.
the staff were friendly and helpful and they were ready to oblige. also at the guesthouse there are several brochures of what you can do and see while in edinburgh.

  • Liked — the location and the cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Stayed for 4 nights with my friend. We were lucky because only 2 of us we had 2 single beds and a double, with our own en suite bathroom. Beds were comfy, with clean crisp sheets and bathroom was adequate with a lovely shower. very light airy room. Was lead to believe B+B was only 10 mins from castle but walk was at least 20 minutes, though walk was pleasant. B+B was located in a nice peaceful street though a barking dog did wake us every morning! Staff were friendly and didn't bother us too much. Breakfast was adequate, we had toast, lots of coffee, cereal and a cooked brekky. We also had the option to fruit and croissants which were great to take to eat later!
Overall a fun and comfortable stay. We paid £25 a night each which I think was value for money.

  • Liked — Clean spacious room, nice shower, quiet location.
  • Disliked — 20 minute walk to town!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LishBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

A group of 5 of us stayed in the Menzies Guest House self catered apartment, which is about 5 minutes walk from the Guest House. We had an OK stay, but had mixed feelings about it, so I've reviewed the pros and cons of the place.

Pros: The beds were comfortable, towels and bedding were supplied and it was cleaned every day. The shower was hot with decent water pressure (although the bath was stained). It's only about 20 minutes walk from the centre.
The owners were very decent - one evening, I came back alone, soaked from the rain, to realise that my husband had the keys (2 sets are given to tenents). The son of the owner walked over in the rain to open the flat for me, so I could dry off and get changed.

Cons: The flat is on the 2nd floor and the entrance, hall and staircase are poorly lit and gloomy, which looks a bit unnerving. Although there are 5 beds, the facilities don't really cater for 5 people - the kitchen only has a few mugs, so we often ended up drinking tea and coffee out of glasses. Also, there were no sofas in the living room - just 2 padded chairs and a few plastic seats. Traffic from the main road may wake you if you don't have earplugs.

Conclusion: At £120 / night, we found it rather overpriced, although I appreciate that prices rise everywhere during the Edinburgh festival. It's worth considering if you can't find a better place.

  • Liked — Good beds
  • Disliked — Poor facilities for the number of people staying
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cluaran Guest House
#129 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#46 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
West End
Casa Hamilton
Casa Hamilton
#47 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Villa
#139 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#203 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Adam Drysdale House
#154 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menzies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menzies Guest House

Property: Menzies Guest House
Address: 33 Leamington Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,524 - ₹ 16,479
Hotel Class:3 star — Menzies Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Menzies Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing