We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Menzies Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 260
US$ 245
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
US$ 207
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 151
US$ 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 131
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 224
US$ 210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 146
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 143
US$ 110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
US$ 154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
16
28
20
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
28
20
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtnice place to staystayed heretriple roomedinburgh castleguesthousehazimapartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2008

stayed there for two nights. we requested a triple room with private bath but ended up having a triple room with shared bath. it was okay as the bathroom (shared) was right next to our room. there was a short queue in the morning but since i woke up quite early, it wasn't much of a problem.

the room was cozy. the sheet was clean, bed was comfortable and fresh towels given to us every morning. we had a small basin with mirror in the room too.

the location was quite convenient. we took a bus from the train station to the B&B. the breakfast was hearty. we had a choice of continental breakfast or english breakfast. english breakfast consisted of eggs, fresh mushroom, beans and tomato. the continental breakfast had a selection of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and homemade bakery. the dining room was cozy and reminds me of home.

the staff were very VERY friendly. they helped us with the luggage. also, as we had to catch the 8.30 am train in the morning on the day of departure, we would miss breakfast. so they prepared something small for us the night before hand so we wouldn't leave on an empty stomach (which consisted of fresh fruit and yogurt). we were surprised at how thoughtful and sweet they were. the breakfast was brought to our room the night before (the staff took it to our room when we came back, so i suppose she was waiting for us to come back). very sweet.

i would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

i found this guesthouse very clean and nice and cosy. the room was cleaned every day and it was quite spacious. the shower was also cleaned every day and although it was tiny it was very very clean. The breakfast was quite adequate - you have a choice: either a typical scottish breakfast or the continental type.
the location is excellent, right near the meadows and a few minutes away from the centre.
the staff were friendly and helpful and they were ready to oblige. also at the guesthouse there are several brochures of what you can do and see while in edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

Stayed for 4 nights with my friend. We were lucky because only 2 of us we had 2 single beds and a double, with our own en suite bathroom. Beds were comfy, with clean crisp sheets and bathroom was adequate with a lovely shower. very light airy room. Was lead to believe B+B was only 10 mins from castle but walk was at least 20 minutes, though walk was pleasant. B+B was located in a nice peaceful street though a barking dog did wake us every morning! Staff were friendly and didn't bother us too much. Breakfast was adequate, we had toast, lots of coffee, cereal and a cooked brekky. We also had the option to fruit and croissants which were great to take to eat later!
Overall a fun and comfortable stay. We paid £25 a night each which I think was value for money.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LishBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

A group of 5 of us stayed in the Menzies Guest House self catered apartment, which is about 5 minutes walk from the Guest House. We had an OK stay, but had mixed feelings about it, so I've reviewed the pros and cons of the place.

Pros: The beds were comfortable, towels and bedding were supplied and it was cleaned every day. The shower was hot with decent water pressure (although the bath was stained). It's only about 20 minutes walk from the centre.
The owners were very decent - one evening, I came back alone, soaked from the rain, to realise that my husband had the keys (2 sets are given to tenents). The son of the owner walked over in the rain to open the flat for me, so I could dry off and get changed.

Cons: The flat is on the 2nd floor and the entrance, hall and staircase are poorly lit and gloomy, which looks a bit unnerving. Although there are 5 beds, the facilities don't really cater for 5 people - the kitchen only has a few mugs, so we often ended up drinking tea and coffee out of glasses. Also, there were no sofas in the living room - just 2 padded chairs and a few plastic seats. Traffic from the main road may wake you if you don't have earplugs.

Conclusion: At £120 / night, we found it rather overpriced, although I appreciate that prices rise everywhere during the Edinburgh festival. It's worth considering if you can't find a better place.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vburnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at this B&B on the Easter long weekend. It is about a twenty minute walk from the Castle, and costs about GBP25 per person per night. The staff were very quiet but friendly enough. The hallway of the B&B is lovely - but the room was adequate. Sink but no bathroom and only one bathroom between who-knows how many bathroomless rooms (we did have to queue on more than one occasion, which was quite painful especially as the bathroom was not on the same floor and so there were lots of trips up and down stairs). There was a shower opposite us, but it was literally a cupboard that locked with a showerhead - it was way too claustrophobic for me to even attempt!! I was too frightened that the wood would warp with the steam and I would get stuck in there (no matter how unlikely that is!).
The worst thing about this B&B was the breakfast - I have stayed in countless B&Bs in the same price-range and it was absolutely grotesque - fried spam-like concoction instead of bacon, cold toast, plasticky eggs....it really took the cake.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews