We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
57
11
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleith linksminutes walk awayhome from homenext morningjameshostsaccommodationbus
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2015

If you are visiting Edinburgh for any reason, business, pleasure or to explore this interesting city, then I can highly recommend this homely guest house. James and Dora make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through their door, the rooms are spotless and the breakfast superb. The room was very quiet at night. They even offer the use of the dining room for your own take away food, an extremely generous gesture for guests who want to cut back on eating in restaurants every day, which can mount up at city prices. The location is ideal to visit the city centre (by car, taxi or bus which stops directly outside), Leith docks (the Britannia), Forth road bridges, or the nearby coastal area at Portobello. We are regular visitors of this area and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Stayed here for rugby weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. James and Dora very welcoming and a great breakfast included. Rooms are very comfortable with everything available. No hesitation in recommending Crioch and plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank theMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

We stayed five nights during last Christmas. The B&B is very clean. As soon as we arrived we have been asked to take off our shoes. We didn't mind because we do the same at home.
The place is absolutely clean. There is no trace of dust all over the place. Our room was very comfortable. The bathroom spotless. We also found shampoo and body wash available.
Every morning they tidy the room and refill teas and biscuits.
Unfortunately I didn't feel well and we had to spend two whole days in the room. James and Dora have been very kind and helped us heating up some food we previously bough nearby. We had the chance to eat in the dining room that is available all the time. They provided us plates and cutlery. We couldn't expect more.
Every day you have the option to choose what to eat for breakfast. The portions are not too big but James comes constantly to check if everything is fine and if you want anything else. He's always available for a chat and jockeys. Also he gave us a lot of informations.
At the moment of our leaving we got a warm goodbye.
The only negative point is we could hear everything from the room close to our (even whispering and coughing ). Fortunately we have being lucky finding neighbours who went to bed early.
Another problem was the noise of a holding tank refilling probably in the loft night and early morning.
Our only suggestion is about having some background music or radio during breakfast.
Going back to Edinburgh we'll definitely go back to the Crioch GH

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely room and location. We were uncomfortable with the host re.a racist joke and suggesting we could buy breakfast elsewhere if their time was too early for us. This is a bed and breakfast hotel and we made no comment on the time of breakfast. The hostess had restrictions re eating in the room and there was a no footwear upstairs rule. We felt we were being monitored for our full stay.

Our 20 and 17 year old had never faced this "behavior " before and it totally spoilt our stay in this otherwise lovely B &B in beautiful Scotland.

Room Tip: If you desire comfort re being made welcome irrespective of your cultural background, don't stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We visited here and stayed for 2 nights. The location is lovely, opposite a park and great bus links to Edinburgh city centre. The rooms are simple but clean. The owners are friendly too. There aren't any bath or shower products on offer so don't rely on having any. Parking is off road and a bit tight but we found a space round the back.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank StaffyCammack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews