We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but don't expect to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #72 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice location but don't expect to sleep”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My friend booked this guest house for us to stay at while we were in Edinburgh for a conference. The booking process went well. We arrived to find the room a tad tired and dated. Unfortunately the whole house smells of damp including the bedroom that we had. Of concern the bed room window was locked and we weren't give the key! So no fresh air in the house of bedroom- which explains the smell.....

The beds are covered with a thick sheet of plastic- which means that you sweat while sleeping and then wake up damp.....my friend did not sleep at all for two nights.

The en-suite bathroom was very nice and modern.

There was no breakfast the first morning, as the owners were out, but they had left a pastry for us. On the second morning I got up, waited and waited in the dining room but no one came, so we had to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyrshireLeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayEdinburgh, Owner at Lindsay Guest House, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
It is very saddening to receive a review of this nature.
If the whole house smells of damp we must have a serious problem. One which other guests fail to detect.
I too would be concerned if the bedroom window did not open. The person who booked arrived before the reviewer and I explained to her where the hairdryer was, shower controls etc and also that the origonal shutters in the room worked and if they need air to unscrew the latch and the sash window could be opened. There is no key!!! Although this should not have been an problem, all they had to do was ask. As they did at one time when they required more milk.
Bedrooms are aired when serviced so this entire issue mystifies me.

Our beds are fitted with protectors but not thick sheets of plastic. This is fairly standard practice in the hospitality industry and although not to everyones liking is an essential.

Breakfast starts at 8.00. As all other guests were attending the same conference many were sharp after 8.00. If the reviewer was waiting and waiting she must have been in well before that time. Indeed at 8.05 the other person asked if they could have coffee and milk for the room as they would not have time for breakfast as the reviewer was showering etc and they had other people to collect. In the event it was close to 9.00am by the time they both left..
Not quite the picture being painted in the review.

Keith Jeffs
I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
109
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed here for the tattoo weekend. Lovely clean rooms, with very good breakfast, including haggis on the first day, but unfortunatey not available on the second day. the bedrooms are a tad old fashioned with large heavy throws that were discarded for the nights, quilts would much improve the sleeping conditions. the guest house is a steady half hour walk along the canal into the city, but i wouldnt like to walk back to the guest house at night in the dark, so you need taxis and bus fare expenditure. Theres a nice pub called the "Kilted pig" around the corner, with a nice friendly barman, foods not bad either, and try the "Inca" italian about 1/2 mile away for a very good meal. All in all, a nice place to stay, but a bit "Out of the way".

Room Tip: The back of house rooms are best if you don,t want traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
639 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Lovely helpful hosts, comfortable beds, very modern bathroom, excellent breakfast and a good location - Highly recommended. The walk into the City along the canal is a highlight and a real pleasure. If you are not into walking then there is a bus stop outside and the City buses are very effiocient. The room price was not cheap but given we were there at Festival time the price was in line with the competition

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed there with my wife last December, for Hogmanay, and we will never forget Keith and Pamela. Beautiful house, amazing room, lovely neighbourhood (only ten minutes by bus from the city centre) and, of course, very friendly hosts. And Edinburgh is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Eustache, Quebec
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed our first two nights in Edinburgh in this nice B&B. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We had the room on the canal side which was spacious and clean. It takes more than 20 minutes to walk to the beguinning of the town center via the canal pathway and than from there you have to walk another 15 min or so to get to the castle. I would suggest taking the bus which you take right in front of the house. The breakfast was ok but we had better. The wi-fi signal wasn't very strong in the room but we were able to access it anyway. Overall, it was a nice place but a little farther from the old town than we expected.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane_Raynald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.9 km away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.6 km away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#89 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.1 km away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#37 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#58 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.8 km away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#61 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.8 km away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#32 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,137 - ₹ 11,621
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing