We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stag do base”
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent stag do base”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Smart City Edinburgh on a stag do for the weekend.
Pleasantly surprised at the level of comfort and amenities that was on offer at the location.
The bar area was fantastic excellent range of drinks available and the breakfast on offer was just what the doctor ordered after a heavy night on the town.
I have stayed at a lot of accommodation all over Europe and I would definately recommend Smart City to friends for a stag do or hen do base.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BPASouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hey,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

We aim to please all of our guests and are glad you guys had a great time.

Cheers,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    561
    210
    62
    61
See reviews for
229
125
429
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night in Edinburgh and could not be more pleased with the amazing value I got for my money at Smart City. We were two adults and four kids, so we booked a room with six beds, three bunk beds, and an en suite bathroom. It cost less than half what other places would have charged, and at any other hotel we probably would have been split up into two separate rooms. The hostel is right on the Royal Mile - everything you could possibly want to do with the kids is within walking distance.

The room was extremely clean, linens boiled and starched and everything sparkling white. Floors were squeaky, walls a bit thin, and the conditioner dispenser was out of conditioner. But honestly, those things didn't bother me. My children, my friend and I were just so excited to find a last minute room to accommodate all of us at such a great price. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamarjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review.

We are glad you stayed with us, and hope to see you back soon.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Traveling in a group of six meant that every accommodation we had looked at meant two rooms and £300+ per night to stay in the centre of the city. We choose Smart City Hostel because is was going to be £100 a per. It is very basic accommodation, like you would imagine a hostel to be. We had three bunk beds, which the kids loved. Despite it being very basic, it was clean and it even had hairdryer, as well as soap, shower gel, & shampoo dispenser. It was literally a 15 second walk to the royal mile, which meant there was a bit of noise at night, but not unbearably so. There was a mix of backpackers, stag parties, and families. The entrance was secure with great young helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again in a group.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaritaOsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hi,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to review us.

We are glad you liked the hostel and enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

i've been in a dozens of hostels across the UK, and to be honest this was the best by far, much more that you can expect from a hostel, it's like a hotel with rooms shared. beds and bathroom really comfortable, lifts to the floors and nice carpeted corridors,.. and downstairs you'll find a nice bar, proper place to meet other travellers and share a pint. if i will come back to Edinburgh, definitely i'll stay here again. lissy of the staff was lovely!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abel_gnecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hi,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us.

We always try our best to make everyones stay a great one.

Thanks and see you again soon if you return to Edinburgh,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Gwent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Seriously, ive stayed in hostels before and ive stayed in hotels aswell but this is in my top 5 for both. Probably top 3 to be fair. We went on a stag do to edinburgh, and we stayed here, there were 5 of us and we had a 6 person room to ourselves, i think we ended up paying roughly 64 quid for 2 nights but totally worth that money!

Official check in time wasnt until 3pm which is slightly late seeing we arrived at 8.30am, but the staff were so nice, they let us leave our cases in the locked luggage room until we checked in. which left us free to explore edinburgh for abit. i mean the pubs in edinburgh!

Based on the bar and foyer, i thought the rooms might be less amazing, but they didnt let you down. shower was great, powerful and warm just the way you need it! so no crap water pressure!
Rooms were clean and well maintained and plenty of sockets for the inevitable phone charger!

Bar and food area was great! pool tables and comfy chairs aswell!
breakfast was free with your room aswell, and as much tea and toast as you could handle! Really brilliant value for money!

The receptionist was also very nice, especially when she let us use her lipstick and compact to paint the stag with HER lipstick!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Hey,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and the lipstick came in handy!

Hope you see you back again soon.

Remember you can upload your pictures onto our website.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Property: Safestay Edinburgh
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,611 - ₹ 16,235
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing