We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hostel made my day”
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This hostel made my day”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We paid just 10cent per person per night, because of hostelbookers deal. The room was for 12 people, its old building and every footstep makes a noise. The window was just next to the bed, and has to be open, because of lack of oxyden. so sometimes I was worried that something will kill me through the window. our roommates were horrible, they did like they were the only one in the room-the german couple and old man snoring whole night. But I have good memories for the stay, so Im not giving bad mark

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi there,

We are glad that over all, you enjoyed your stay.

We are sorry you did not like your rooms mates, but as I'm sure you'll appreciate, we can't help people snoring.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    500
    181
    51
    54
See reviews for
186
113
381
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband & I travelled to Scotland in April 2011, we booked the holiday last minute so had trouble trying to find accommodation. We decided to stay in a hostel as it was city centre & seemed to have good reviews.

We booked the whole room out for just us, so there were 3 spare beds in the room but we didnt want to share so we booked for the whole room, the room had its own bathroom / toilet as well which was brilliant so you didnt have to go to a communal bathroom to shower etc.

We had breakfast as well, there were restrictions on what you could eat though you could only have 1 piece of fruit and 1 - 3 pieces of portions of certain foods at the buffet which seemed a little silly. It was full of people of all ages not just backpackers, it was very busy and noisy at nighttimes but once you up in your room you dont hear the noise.

We had an issue one of the nights, the hostel receptionist gave our key pass (for our room) to a group of people whom just arrived, so about 1am in the morning we had a group of people walk into the room & switch on the light. So we had to get out of bed go down to the receptionist & sort it out - very annoying so seems like they need to manage their bookings better !!

I would stay here again and book out a whole room as well, as its cheap & a great location !!

Room Tip: Do the Scotline tour bus day trip to the Highlands & Lochness - Amazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amor_vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hi,

Thank for taking the time to review us.

We are sorry if there was a mix up with room keys.

Our breakfasts aren't unlimited, therefore, we limit every guest to 6 pieces of a quantity of food eg 2 sausages = 1 piece, yoghurt = 1 piece.

We hope to see you agian in you come to Ednburgh.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2012

9 of us stayed at this hostel for a Stag weekend and we couldn't have been happier with the place! The rooms were amazingly clean and tidy, and the staff were brilliant. The breakfast (included in the room price) was better than we could've imagined and whole experience was just great. Would definitely stay there again as the location is perfect, right in the middle of the royal mile. No matter how many times I got lost I somehow always ended up back at the hostel (don't know if thats some which craft on their part). Fantastic place, would definitely recommend it. The theme for Stag was Victorian Gentlemen and this hostel suited us gents down to a tee!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trev400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Hi there,

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have you became a fan on facebook.com/smartcityhostel? You can upload some of your pics on there too from your stay with us.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, Brazil
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

It was my first experience in hostels. A friend and I got two beds in a shared room for 6 people there. I was impressed by the organization and cleaning of the place. They give you towels. Each room, as far As I could see, has its own shower and toilet splitted. The shower has it own liquid soup dispenser and the toilet has a small mirror, a sink, and the toilet it self. The common area is a nice pub (It had to be in UK, right?!), with two pool tables, large area and many tables. At the pub there are common toilets as well (probably to be used by costumer and hosts). You can access wifi-internet only at the pub. It's very well located. Short walk to the Royal Mile and to the train station. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathyBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your review.

We are so happy you had a good time with us and hope to see you back in future. Be sure to become one of our fans on facebook.com/smartcityhostel if you aren't already, to receive our free breakfast voucher if you visit again.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

With my boyfired we stayed 3 nights at the Smart City Hostel in Edinburgh in January 2012.
We highly recommend this place as it is very clean, modern, safe and in a great location.
We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was very spacious and where every bed had its own cupboard with a locker. The room had 2 showers and 2 toilets.
Very good value!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Hi,

Cheers for your review. We love getting feedback.

Glad you enjoyed your stay. If you've got any photos of the hostel or your time here, then upload onto our website. It's great ot have pictures on there of guests that have stayed with us.

Thanks and hopefully see you again soon,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Property: Safestay Edinburgh
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,486 - ₹ 14,209
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing