We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,460)
Filter reviews
2,460 results
Traveller rating
1,240
815
244
103
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
815
244
103
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quirky hotel teacakes biddy mulligans dandy wallpaper tea cakes magnetic map great location adjoining pub magnetic wall ipod dock royal mile grass market rainfall shower single room pubs and restaurants little touches loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,460 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Fantastic hotel in a great location for castle,royal mile,grey friars and lots of great night life,bars and eating places.Loved breakfast great choice and porridge was yummy.Clean cosy rooms with lots of lovely quirky things.A must stay !! Loved every minute

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi Helen B,

Wow - thank you for this wonderful review!

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town - perfect for exploring the city on foot and of course all of the great cafes and shops the Grassmarket has to offer. We love our unique design and are always thrilled when our guests love it too!

Don't be a stranger, give us a call next time you are in the city for our best rates!

Christie & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights while we visited Edinburgh. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel location was great - right near the castle and in the heart of the Old Town. Our room was compact but lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't book breakfast with our room, as the hotel is on a street full of cafés that do lovely breakfasts. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank eleanorip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Hi eleanorip,

Thank you for this 5 star review!

It's always lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests, especially about our lovely team - they will be thrilled to know that you found them to be so friendly. We are pleased that you enjoyed one of our Snug Double rooms and found it to be comfortable and well facilitated for your stay!

We would love to see you again on your next trip to the city, remember to get in touch directly on 0131 2202299 for our best rates.

Christie & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

What a a lovely stay, To start of we arrived late and we where welcomed a lovely gentleman named Martin, He was very welcoming and had a lot of local knowledge of venues and prices which was great! We got into our room and where amazed by the view from the 4th floor, We immediately got ready and headed down to the local pub scene which was a beautiful stretch of pubs going down the heart of the grass market, Litterly basking in the history and the heart of it all, We got back to the hotel (Drunk) and noticed the cleanliness however was what we expected so we slept on it and went down to breakfast and spoke to another receptionist I think her name was Emma but I'm not to sure who was very helpful in having a maid suit to our needs, All in all a good stay and will give a five star on this one, Great stay just wish the cleanliness was as refreshing as the staff. Will be back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stefan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi stefan r

Thank you for your amazing 5 star review.
We are beyond thrilled to read through your superb review.
It brings us great pleasure to hear that you felt such a warm welcome from the team,especially from Martin and Emma, who indeed takes pride in looking after our guests. We have passed your kind words to staff members who appreciates your time and wonderful feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon.

Please call us direct on 01312202299 next time you are in town for the best returners rates.

Inese & The Grassmarket Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We stayed at Grassmarket Hotel on our last night in Scotland. The hotel is in a great location and is ideal if you are going to the Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo. Upon arrival we received a free guide to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival which I wish I had had earlier in our trip and in our room we had ginger beer and Scottish tablet. I think that the staff did a great job making us feel welcome and setup to enjoy our visit to Edinburgh. Our room was quite compact, but workable. If you are not in a rush in the morning, I would skip getting the breakfast at the next door restaurant along with the room reservation. There are plenty of breakfast options outside of the hotel that would be better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaPtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Ana P,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great 5 star review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our central location which is perfect for seeing the whole city during the Fringe Festival and of course the Tattoo! Our team will be so happy to know that you found them to be so welcoming and that you enjoyed our complimentary fudge and ginger beer!

We would love to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh, remember to get in touch directly on 0131 2202299 for our best rates.

Christie & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We visited for the Edinburgh Festival and wanted a good central hotel to access the various venues. The Grassmarket was excellent. it was in a busy area but the room we had on the top floor was very quiet and while quite small was perfect for our needs. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a very good strong shower. Tea and coffee was provided also. Our tiny suggestion is that blackout blinds would have been a great help as even at night it was very light in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64manager, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Claire W!

Thanks for this great review!

It's lovely to read such positive feedback from our guests and see how much they loved our unique hotel. Our central location is perfect for visiting in the Fringe - you'll never miss a single show! I am pleased to know that you enjoyed a quiet room despite our popular location and made use of our complimentary extras.

We would love to see you again on your next trip to Edinburgh, remember to give us a call directly on 0131 2202299 for our best rates.

Christie & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews