We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Classy!”
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #11 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited 12 B&Bs during our four weeks in Ireland and the UK and Adria House was our favorite. Edward and Maria were wonderful. The house in a 200-year-old charmer. It is elegantly appointed. Our room was large, and the bathroom even larger! Short walk to city center.
Many B&Bs ask guests to give them high marks and there is a tendency to do so after having gotten to know the owners. Not so here. Adria House well deserves every one of five stars of its own accord! Bravo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyKingPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Even though our stay at Adria House was this past June, I would be remiss if I did not add my vote for a great place to stay. If there were more than five stars, I would use them. Edward and Maria did an awesome job making us welcome.

They did a great job with breakfasts, delicious and plentiful, giving us information on the area and showing us shortcuts to key sites.

This was our first time in Edinburgh and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Adria House. We would not hesitate to stay here again should the opportunity present itself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our first floor room was huge and beautiful. We looked out to the beautiful garden in back and loved the super high ceilings, we felt like princesses! My daughter and I had a wonderful experience at the Adria House. The private bathroom a few steps away was no problem, super huge and clean. One morning we had a tour and didn't get up early enough to eat breakfast, Maria hurried to get us breakfast on the go which was so nice of her on such short notice. The location was within walking distance to everything we needed, although for some the walk up the hill to the train/shuttle bus could be a problem if you have large luggage, we had just carry on size luggage and it was not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbqLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked a family/en suite room for 2 adults and 1 child. When we opened the door to our room, our jaws dropped. It was absolutely beautiful. The inn has a great location being situated on a quiet hill bordering a park but just a short walk from plenty of excitement. Maria and Edward are wonderful hosts. Edward took great care of us when our daughter was feeling under the weather. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

During our 9 week stay in Europe and the UK, this accommodation was our #1. I can only concur with comments from other reviewers. Beautiful authentic Georgian house and not having an ensuite in our room was simply not an issue. There was a sink, while padding 20feet along a carpeted landing to our bathroom which was huge and immaculately clean, was not an impediment at all (for us anyway).
The service was outstanding+. We had a minor admin issue with one of our tours and Maria went above and beyond to facilitate resolution. Additionally, on our day of departure, she very kindly stored our luggage after checkout and even invited us to return, to pass the time until our late night departure, even serving us tea and biscuits in the sitting room while we watched TV!
Very highly recommended and unbelievably well priced!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room on the first floor which we couldn't fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KH138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
Fraoch House
#7 of 396 in Edinburgh
786 reviews
94DR
#4 of 396 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 396 in Edinburgh
761 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 396 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#14 of 396 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,150 - ₹ 10,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing