We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Classy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #6 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Classy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visited 12 B&Bs during our four weeks in Ireland and the UK and Adria House was our favorite. Edward and Maria were wonderful. The house in a 200-year-old charmer. It is elegantly appointed. Our room was large, and the bathroom even larger! Short walk to city center.
Many B&Bs ask guests to give them high marks and there is a tendency to do so after having gotten to know the owners. Not so here. Adria House well deserves every one of five stars of its own accord! Bravo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyKingPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
242
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Even though our stay at Adria House was this past June, I would be remiss if I did not add my vote for a great place to stay. If there were more than five stars, I would use them. Edward and Maria did an awesome job making us welcome.

They did a great job with breakfasts, delicious and plentiful, giving us information on the area and showing us shortcuts to key sites.

This was our first time in Edinburgh and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Adria House. We would not hesitate to stay here again should the opportunity present itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our first floor room was huge and beautiful. We looked out to the beautiful garden in back and loved the super high ceilings, we felt like princesses! My daughter and I had a wonderful experience at the Adria House. The private bathroom a few steps away was no problem, super huge and clean. One morning we had a tour and didn't get up early enough to eat breakfast, Maria hurried to get us breakfast on the go which was so nice of her on such short notice. The location was within walking distance to everything we needed, although for some the walk up the hill to the train/shuttle bus could be a problem if you have large luggage, we had just carry on size luggage and it was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbqLBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We booked a family/en suite room for 2 adults and 1 child. When we opened the door to our room, our jaws dropped. It was absolutely beautiful. The inn has a great location being situated on a quiet hill bordering a park but just a short walk from plenty of excitement. Maria and Edward are wonderful hosts. Edward took great care of us when our daughter was feeling under the weather. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

During our 9 week stay in Europe and the UK, this accommodation was our #1. I can only concur with comments from other reviewers. Beautiful authentic Georgian house and not having an ensuite in our room was simply not an issue. There was a sink, while padding 20feet along a carpeted landing to our bathroom which was huge and immaculately clean, was not an impediment at all (for us anyway).
The service was outstanding+. We had a minor admin issue with one of our tours and Maria went above and beyond to facilitate resolution. Additionally, on our day of departure, she very kindly stored our luggage after checkout and even invited us to return, to pass the time until our late night departure, even serving us tea and biscuits in the sitting room while we watched TV!
Very highly recommended and unbelievably well priced!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room on the first floor which we couldn't fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Property: Adria House
Address: 11 - 12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,459 - ₹ 11,528
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing