We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steve myatt stoke would recomend hotel 100%”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #21 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“steve myatt stoke would recomend hotel 100%”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

First time stopped at a premier inn ,
Staff were exellent especially Mikey on arrival within 10 mins of booking in we had the post code to the zoo ,train timtable. The Newcraig was in our opinion exellent value ,spotlesly clean a credit to all the staff who work there. Train into edinburgh is a must , leave the car at the hotel. Also 20 minute drive to the zoo in the car, make sure you go early due to a small car park.Wil be back.
steve & deb

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your very kind comments about our hotel. Guest feedback is important when it comes to ensuring the best quality of service for our guests.

It was my pleasure and indeed all staff members' pleasure ensuring you guys had all the information and service required to enjoy your stay.

We hope we'll be seeing you guys again in the future.

Kind regards, Mikey

P.S How amazing are the Pandas eh?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    158
    28
    9
    9
See reviews for
191
188
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Premier Inn was ideal though did lack some of the little touches that the newer ones have such as a heated towel rail. The staff (especially Mikey on reception) were very helpful and even print out train times for you. There is some road noise from the nearby A1 but this is minimal and did not disturb us at all. There is a main train line at the back but people we spoke to said this was not a problem. In so far as the Premier Inn is concerned the only slight concern was car parking. The car park is vast but the bit straight outside the inn is used by people attending the fitness centre next door (even though that has it's own car park) and so sometimes your car ended up being parked out of sight - the management should restrict the car park to hotel users only. Whilst the premier inn was good the restaurant next door was the worst we have ever experienced. Most of the staff were unfriendly and the place was decorated in very dark colours with dark furniture which made it seem gloomy. Basic items such as crossiants were limited each day and the staff hesitant about heating up more. The coffee was usually cold and for the final two mornings we took the advice of other contributors and ate elsewhere. In the evening would strongly suggest the short drive to Luca's Ice Cream Parlour in nearby Musselbrough which was great. There is a train station just over the road and the trip into Edinburgh was only about 15 minutes for £3.70 return so use this rather than drive in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front rather than the back which overlooks the main railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwesties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your very kind and constructive comments about our hotel. Guest feedback is important when it comes to ensuring the best quality of service for our guests.

Your comments will also be passed to the Cuddie Brae next door and we hope we can look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed 2 nights 15th 16th May. Excellent room and staff. All staff very friendly and cheery. We had 2 very good evening meals in 'pub' (Cuddie Brae) next door. We would highly recommend this Premier Inn. Full marks all round.

Room Tip: Room was next to car park, did not hear a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your fantastic review of our hotel, your feedback is very important to Premier Inn and ensures we can deliver the best experience for our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night 10 april room very nice clean and warm b/fast really good ,mikey was really nice and made us feel at home will be back

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn, Edinburgh, A1, Newcraighall for your review of our hotel, your feedback is very important to us.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Premier Inn is opposite the massive Fort Kinnaird retail park, with large branches of high street stores. The Inn itself is on a main road but well-double glazed so noise was not an issue.

There is a restaurant attached, with a good range of food, and I also ate at an Indian in nearby Portobello.

The Inn is close to the A1 and A720 Edinburgh bypass so is a great location for those travelling to Edinburgh or through.

My favourite thing about staying here is being able to go shopping after a day at work/long drive to Scotland!

Room Tip: There is a lift to rooms on the first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) for your great review of our hotel, your feedback is crucial in ensuring we at the Premier Inn can deliver the best experience for our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found the time to do some shopping at Fort Kinnaird. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,117 - ₹ 11,141
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing