We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highfield Guest House
Ranked #39 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed one night at the Highfield Guest House in mid march. We found staying with Maggie and Gordon totally refreshing compared to the bustling Old Waverly Hotel, where we had stayed two nights previously. It was the first night of sound rest we got during our stay in Edinburgh, and we regretted not staying at the Highfield during our whole time in the city. Truly wonderful hosts, who gave great directions which got us right to Roslyn Chapel. Our next trip to Edinburgh we know where we are staying!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
95
44
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Highfiels Giest House with my familly (2 adults + 2 children). We had a big familly room. The room was perfect. The staff were so kind and very helpful. I recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Highfield Guest House. Maggie and Gordon and Kate were wonderful - friendly and hospitable and full of helpful and useful information. It was an easy bus ride to the center of the city, so the location was convenient.

The room was comfortable and lovely. One of my favorite touches was that a corkscrew and wine glasses were in the room - so nice not to have to track down a corkscrew and drink wine out of coffee cups! The breakfasts were delicious, and the day we had to leave early for a bus tour, Maggie packed us breakfast bags to take along.

Our experience there was terrific, and we would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed for five nights at Highfield Guest House. From the first day, it became my favourite place to stay. The room and the bath were spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the room was warm, the food was great, the service was wonderful and above all, the staff were very friendly, helpful and so lovely. Everything I needed was there. Thanks to Maggie, Gordon and Kate, I had a fantastic time in Edinburgh and I would love to go back there one day. They care for customers and their memories they make during their stay in Edinburgh. I could feel that the staff really want to make customers' stay comfortable. I definitely recommend this excellent guest house to anyone planning to stay in Edinburgh. Thank you so much to Maggie, Gordon and Kate. I hope to see you all one day again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaoTheU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed at the Highfield for three nights and I could not have chosen a better place.
The room was perfect, clean, cosy, and with all the facilities (including free and fast internet), location ideal, and the service and the staff were absolutely wonderful. The attention to detail was outstanding, and the friendly attention I received, including the personalized and extremely generous breakfast, made it particularly welcoming. I travel constantly throughout the world, from 1 to 5 stars hotels, and I have never seen such high quality for such an economical price. I will be staying there again without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARI_Astro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#74 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#346 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#32 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Alba House
#48 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Guest House

Property: Highfield Guest House
Address: 83 Mayfield Road, Edinburgh EH9 3AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,433 - ₹ 14,793
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maggie and Gordon welcome you to their elegant Victorian guest house situated in the Newington district of Edinburgh, close to the beautiful, historic city centre. The four star Highfield Guest House offers true Scottish hospitality so whether you are here on holiday or on a business trip you will find Highfield's friendly, informal ambience very relaxing and our attention to detail will ensure a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Highfield Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing