We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
204
218
64
32
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
218
64
32
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haymarket station four poster bed top floor basement room kippers minute walk no lift city centre full scottish high ceilings breakfast was excellent scottish breakfast sister hotel modern bathroom cooked breakfast nice room princess street
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

An overnighter at the Lairg was great. Really nice room in an adjoining building, spacious, warm and very comfortable. Add in a tasty breakfast and all was good! Check in at reception was ok, but not warmest of welcomes! Would be happy to return again though.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

we stayed at the lairg hotel in edinburgh,the staff were always very friendly and helpful.the room we had was clean,tidy and well worth the money that we paid.the breakfast was brilliant,a very good breakfast with many choices of what you would like to eat.it was the best breakfast i have had in a hotel,well worth the money.staff again very polite and helpful everytime.would recomend staying here and we will certainly stay again.good for walking into city centre,also good for buses and tram station 2 minutes walk.

Room Tip: first floor room nice and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave19590306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Found this gem of a hotel recently online. We were looking for a last minute deal before New Year and happened upon this.. the deal we got was outstanding and the room was just amazing.. the breakfast was absolutely fab too...Tha manager and his team are really friendly and helpful too.. nothign was too much trouble...do yourself a a favour and get booking this.. you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Beautiful room with a four poster bed. Clean and nicely decorated. Friendly staff and we got a little giftbox left for us over Hogmanay. Breakfast was not exceptional but was good and generous. I would definitely recommend staying at The Lairg.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We stayed here a couple nights, and liked the size and quality of the room. Also, the breakfast, which was included in our price, was ample and sustaining. The best benefit is that it's close to the train station, and centrally located. Our only real problem with this B&B was the staff. The server who worked breakfast worked hard ... and had a lot to do. But, the older couple who ran the place made odd political comments to us and also stared at us as if we were aliens when we came down to breakfast. There was no warmth at all. We ignored it, but it was a bit unsettling.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street and the cars on the cobblestones made noise ...
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews