We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A warm Scots welcome and a very comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast. Help with parking. Easy access by bus to the city. Recommended by us as it is by others on this site.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longdistancetravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

A Very Happy Stay and it twas a very Happy Time being here for you..

Happy Maxx..

Tee heee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 619 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Ceilidh-Donia for our three days in Edinburgh and found it to be a comfortable, accommodating, enjoyable Inn. The proprietors, Annette and Maxx, bend over backward to make their guests feel at home. They are great sources of information regarding Edinburgh and how to get around; this is important because the hotel is not conveniently located to the heart of the city. But bus service is great and the lack of big-city hustle and bustle more than makes up for the out-of-the-core location. We found the room a tad small but eminently comfortable, especially the bed. Breakfasts were brilliant and the dining room was a great place to meet fellow travelers. Word about this hotel has spread far and wide and its sterling reviews are well deserved.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phunque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

The great thing I think about Small Townhouse Hotels like ours is that all rooms are different and not like the mass produced Multi Bloc Hotels and yes some are slightly smaller than others, part of the fun I think not knowing the room layout instead of Hum Ho, another standard designed room, also we do not have any wish to call some of our rooms Superior or Deluxe or indeed charge more for them, hey Life Is an adventure I hope! But it is great to know that the ambience of our Breakfast Room encourages conversations between this Couple and other Travelling Guests..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

everything was great. The owners were very kind and even let me check in early and helped me (went out of their way, actually) securely parking my motorcycle overnight. There are films and books in the lobby and if you fancy you can walk the 15 minutes into the city instead of taking the bus. Room was spotless and the breakfast was the best among the 12 hotels I stayed in during my 16 days trip through the Isles, since they offered continental breakfast on top of the full cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

To be the best in this reviewers eyes after staying in 12 other Hotels as he travelled through these Gorgeous Islands is indeed a great compliment, Annette, Janet, Jill Anne and staff really do enjoy their work and involvement with Tourists as they pass through this Small Hotel.


Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

(Pronounced "Caledonia", which is a lot easier to remember). This small, family-operated hotel is a three-star gem in the Dalkeith Road area near the University of Edinburgh student residences, a 7-pound cab ride, short bus ride, or 15 minute walk from city center. We stayed for three nights and greatly enjoyed it. The rooms are nicely furnished and ours had the best shower I experienced in the two week Iceland-Scotland trip we recently completed. The breakfasts are, as noted in other reviews, quite good, with an unusually large menu of choices (the bagels with smoked salmon are excellent, as is the scotch breakfast). Max and Annette are the proprietors- Max was gone while we were there, but we cannot say enough good things about Annette. She was an excellent host- professional, competent, knowledgeable and helpful. We would happily stay again and recommend the Hotel Ceillidh-Donia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bardsljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

OOPS sorry my reviewer, actually Hotel Ceilidh-Donia takes its Inspiration from the Eagles Song, Welcome to the Hotel California, such a lovely place such a lov--- ----- and Ceilidh is a Scottish gathering of People Friends etc to enjoy Singing, Dancing, Food and of course Scottish Whisky, we pronounce the C in Ceilidh in Scotland as a K, so Ceilidh is pronounced as Kaylee but many Moons of thanks for letting me explain why we chose the name.

Great to know our Breakfast are still hitting the spot with our Guests and that Annette does indeed exude friendliness and has a very professional approach to this Hospitality Business

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The small hotel is located in a nice quarter a bit out of the city center, but close to the bus stop that can take you into town. The room was equipped with everything I needed and was very clean. The staff was very friendly. Our breakfast was perfect: you can choose from english breakfast, scottish or salmon sandwich (mmmhh, definitely the best) and serve yourself from the small buffet. I would recommend it to everybody! There is a very nice Pub 5 minutes walk from the hotel (Salisbury arms) serving delicious food and a big range of various beers. Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

I thank this reviewer for being concise with their thoughts and Yes the Salmon Sandwich is yummy as indeed is the close by Salisbury Arms Bar and Restaurant..

Maxx
..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,316 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,255 - ₹ 10,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing