We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 193
US$ 180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 105
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 300
US$ 280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 328
US$ 305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 144
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 334
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$ 231
US$ 176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 186
US$ 108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 325
US$ 257
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,080)
Filter reviews
1,080 results
Traveller rating
764
266
38
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
266
38
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarthur's seatcity centresalisbury armsholyrood parkcommonwealth poolminute bus ridea quiet residential arearoyal milesmall hoteleggs benedictgreat hoststriple roombreakfast was includedfrequent busesgreat showerfriendly hotelno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 1,080 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The small hotel is located in a nice quarter a bit out of the city center, but close to the bus stop that can take you into town. The room was equipped with everything I needed and was very clean. The staff was very friendly. Our breakfast was perfect: you can choose from english breakfast, scottish or salmon sandwich (mmmhh, definitely the best) and serve yourself from the small buffet. I would recommend it to everybody! There is a very nice Pub 5 minutes walk from the hotel (Salisbury arms) serving delicious food and a big range of various beers. Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

I thank this reviewer for being concise with their thoughts and Yes the Salmon Sandwich is yummy as indeed is the close by Salisbury Arms Bar and Restaurant..

Maxx
..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed for five days in May and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. Annette and Max were very helpful and welcoming hosts. I lost my glasses on the bus and Annette kindly offered to go downtown to pick them up for me. That was a very generous offer which we appreciated. Our room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street only a short walk from bus stops and pubs in a very nice residential neighborhood. The breakfasts were excellent and offered both a cold buffet and many choices of hot dishes. We highly recommend this hotel/B&B.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the front of the building. There was little or no noise from the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Having a great Holiday is the most important aspect of the Working Year and if we here at the Hotel Ceildh-Donia can help make it stress free for our Guests by attending to things that go wrong such as leaving Items, loosing things etc, etc then that is why we are here, Rooms and Breakfast are essential and so is attention to our Guests little hassles in life whilst on their Holidays..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Super friendly staff. Really was just like sitting at home except the city around it changed. Bit of a cliché but y'know. Seriously good place, great spot, great service, good rooms and just the nicest people you'll ever meet. Probably the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. Very accommodating when we wanted to get take away, let us use their DVD collection too. Bus stop around the corner and probably about 10-15 minutes away from Prince's Street on the bus.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troyzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

What a great comment, like being at Home only the view changed, Many Moons of thanks for this thought and since we stopped our a la carte meals last year we decided to offer a Carry Out Meal service and then give Plates and Cutlery to our Guests, thus saving them going out, we have always had a free DVD library so after a nice carry out and a few drinks guests can relax in their rooms with a good Movie..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This B&B is a fine example of the reason why i prefer to stay in B&Bs rather than in large hotels - friendly owners who went out of our way to make us feel at home, and a beautiful old building tastefully 'modernised'. Comfy beds, clean rooms, quiet location, a view of Arthur's seat from the room and a very powerful shower. Lovely breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

Sounds like my kind of Holidays well my dear reviewer and I loved your comment "beautiful old building tastefully 'modernised'" we are always trying to marry up this old building with old and new design ideas, and the eventual result is not by professional designers but by Annette myself and all my Builder friends who I have known for 25 app.

Maxx

We are in the process of altering the Bar/Reception area as we speak, I hope you like it should you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I spent four nights at the Ceilidh-Donia. Personalized service, wonderful location and delicious breakfasts. We were thrilled by our time in Scotland and the Ceilidh-Donia was a good part of that.

Max and Annette are gracious hosts. Max went the extra mile to retrieve and return our misplaced cell-phone when we realized we'd left it behind as our train was about to depart.

Do not be fooled by their location. For active people, they are well within pleasant early morning or post-supper walking distance of the Royal Mile.

The breakfast: give yourself the time to savor their Scottish breakfast and other choices before striking out into the city. Our second floor room was clean and spacious; plenty of room to stretch out. Nice view of the back patio too. It was super-quiet in our room at night. Very peaceful and restful. This was a brilliant place to use as a launching point for driving into the Highlands and several days of strolling around Edinburgh.

We would absolutely return to the Ceilidh-Donia next time our travels take us to Scotland. They lived up to and surpassed the Trip Advisor reviews that led us to them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2012

WOW, surpassing Tripadvisor reviews is a wee bity scary, (Wow is actually a 15th Century Scottish word to describe amazement) and we are delighted that this reviewer liked our Location which is so very Important when , and our Location is only 1 1/2 miles from the Waverley Railway Station enabling me to return his Phone promptly enabling them to catch the Train that was waiting.


Maxx..

P.s I bet the word Wow Scottish origins was a surprise to many Tripadvisor members reading this ! ?.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews