We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Ceillidh-Donia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #8 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Ceillidh-Donia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

(Pronounced "Caledonia", which is a lot easier to remember). This small, family-operated hotel is a three-star gem in the Dalkeith Road area near the University of Edinburgh student residences, a 7-pound cab ride, short bus ride, or 15 minute walk from city center. We stayed for three nights and greatly enjoyed it. The rooms are nicely furnished and ours had the best shower I experienced in the two week Iceland-Scotland trip we recently completed. The breakfasts are, as noted in other reviews, quite good, with an unusually large menu of choices (the bagels with smoked salmon are excellent, as is the scotch breakfast). Max and Annette are the proprietors- Max was gone while we were there, but we cannot say enough good things about Annette. She was an excellent host- professional, competent, knowledgeable and helpful. We would happily stay again and recommend the Hotel Ceillidh-Donia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bardsljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
OOPS sorry my reviewer, actually Hotel Ceilidh-Donia takes its Inspiration from the Eagles Song, Welcome to the Hotel California, such a lovely place such a lov--- ----- and Ceilidh is a Scottish gathering of People Friends etc to enjoy Singing, Dancing, Food and of course Scottish Whisky, we pronounce the C in Ceilidh in Scotland as a K, so Ceilidh is pronounced as Kaylee but many Moons of thanks for letting me explain why we chose the name.

Great to know our Breakfast are still hitting the spot with our Guests and that Annette does indeed exude friendliness and has a very professional approach to this Hospitality Business

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    246
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
139
459
101
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The small hotel is located in a nice quarter a bit out of the city center, but close to the bus stop that can take you into town. The room was equipped with everything I needed and was very clean. The staff was very friendly. Our breakfast was perfect: you can choose from english breakfast, scottish or salmon sandwich (mmmhh, definitely the best) and serve yourself from the small buffet. I would recommend it to everybody! There is a very nice Pub 5 minutes walk from the hotel (Salisbury arms) serving delicious food and a big range of various beers. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
I thank this reviewer for being concise with their thoughts and Yes the Salmon Sandwich is yummy as indeed is the close by Salisbury Arms Bar and Restaurant..

Maxx
..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed for five days in May and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel. Annette and Max were very helpful and welcoming hosts. I lost my glasses on the bus and Annette kindly offered to go downtown to pick them up for me. That was a very generous offer which we appreciated. Our room was well equipped, clean and comfortable. The hotel is on a quiet street only a short walk from bus stops and pubs in a very nice residential neighborhood. The breakfasts were excellent and offered both a cold buffet and many choices of hot dishes. We highly recommend this hotel/B&B.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the front of the building. There was little or no noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Having a great Holiday is the most important aspect of the Working Year and if we here at the Hotel Ceildh-Donia can help make it stress free for our Guests by attending to things that go wrong such as leaving Items, loosing things etc, etc then that is why we are here, Rooms and Breakfast are essential and so is attention to our Guests little hassles in life whilst on their Holidays..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Super friendly staff. Really was just like sitting at home except the city around it changed. Bit of a cliché but y'know. Seriously good place, great spot, great service, good rooms and just the nicest people you'll ever meet. Probably the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. Very accommodating when we wanted to get take away, let us use their DVD collection too. Bus stop around the corner and probably about 10-15 minutes away from Prince's Street on the bus.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
What a great comment, like being at Home only the view changed, Many Moons of thanks for this thought and since we stopped our a la carte meals last year we decided to offer a Carry Out Meal service and then give Plates and Cutlery to our Guests, thus saving them going out, we have always had a free DVD library so after a nice carry out and a few drinks guests can relax in their rooms with a good Movie..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This B&B is a fine example of the reason why i prefer to stay in B&Bs rather than in large hotels - friendly owners who went out of our way to make us feel at home, and a beautiful old building tastefully 'modernised'. Comfy beds, clean rooms, quiet location, a view of Arthur's seat from the room and a very powerful shower. Lovely breakfast as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Sounds like my kind of Holidays well my dear reviewer and I loved your comment "beautiful old building tastefully 'modernised'" we are always trying to marry up this old building with old and new design ideas, and the eventual result is not by professional designers but by Annette myself and all my Builder friends who I have known for 25 app.

Maxx

We are in the process of altering the Bar/Reception area as we speak, I hope you like it should you return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,293 - ₹ 13,232
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing