We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for city break without staying in centre of city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

As we were travelling by car we needed parking. The streets around are pretty full but we did find a space a couple of streets away & saved a fortune compared to parking in the city.
The hotel is fantastic- very quiet, exceptionally clean & lots of little extras which helped make our stay so comfortable.
Above all Annette & Max are the perfect hosts & treat you more like house guests than paying guests. The breakfasts are simply the best we've had in terms of choice & cooked to perfection.
There are plenty of nearby restaurants to walk or drive to for an evening meal & the local buses are very cheap & frequent so getting into the city is hassle free.
Hope to go back soon.......................

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Ahh Parking, we benefit from being the First Free Parking street just at the edge of the City Center in a very residential area and of course people park and go into Town to work but in the 25 Years in The Hospitality Business and in this and the next street we have always found a place for our Guest, if not Park outside the Hotel and we will Park it for you..And yes we do want Guests to feel at Home when staying here and if you ever leave your Heart in Edinburgh or Here in the Hotel then that is where your Home will be! Its with us at The hotel Ceilidh-Donia for Home is where the Heart is..Oh Aye Mackay an its Hassle Free..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 649 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I highly recommend this hotel - the hospitality, comfort and location were all outstanding. The owners are so friendly and the breakfast was a perfect start to our day! We would stay here again most definitely. Thank you Ceilidh-Donia!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Happy travellers, that is a recipe to make Happy Hoteliers, and thank you dear Traveller for your thoughtful comments..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Perfectly located for trips into Edinburgh city center, taxis and buses are cheap and right on the doorstep. Room 2 was spotless, the staff was super friendly, bar is well stocked and the breakfast was second to none. Fully recommend this Scottish gem!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurphysGirl_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Welcoming could be the same word to describe The Scottish people who are considered some of the friendliest people on Planet Earth and hope the reviewer comes back to the place he called a Scottish Gem, Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, thank you ..

Maxx..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

first visit to edinburgh and this was a great place to stay, walked to town every day only 20 minutes or so.
Made to feel very welcome on our arrival by annette and given map and tips on area. Stayed in room 7 which was on the top floor, view was great and overlooked arthurs seat. Room very clean and tidy and had been recently refurbished, coffee tea making facilities to hand. Breakfasts were fab and there was a great variety.
Annette gave us a tip to visit Fishers restaurant which was really good.
would definetly return again

Room Tip: stopped in room 7 front top floor with view of arthurs seat, but bear in mind there are two flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19sean64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Fab Place, love that description and I can tell you Annette is also Fab, I know for it was my 36 year Anniversary on the 17th April, and if this Couple fell in Love with Edinburgh I hope they come back before another 36 years and I hope Annette and myself are still here.

Yes they were in our newly refurbed room 7 and glad they really liked it, its hard to keep all rooms perfect but we have 16 rooms and renovate Four or Five every year to keep on top of things. The Restaurant we sent them to called Fishers is truly a terrific place to enjoys Sea Food, small point most of the Sea Food consumed in Spain etc is from Bonnie Scotland’s Sea's, another great place Annette and I were at on Sat 21st Apr was called The Ship on the Shore and their speciality at £85.00 – FRUITS de MER ‘ROYALE’ (ideal for two/three) is truly a work of Art.

Maxx..
..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for two nights. The room was small, but nice and tidy. The staff are really service minded and friendly, and the breakfast (especially the scottish) is excellent! Absolutely recommended!
No problem getting a bus to the city centre, and if you choose to walk, it is about 25 min.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank systemic_rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

It is really nice when people notice that our Staff are genuinely happy to serve and help them enjoy their Holiday, also this reviewer recognise our great quiet location with a great Bus service and an easy walk to great attractions nearby and yes we do have a variety of different rooms sizes and styles which makes for an interesting stay for Guests who come back again to us as all our rooms are different from each other.

Maxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Address: 14-16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,126 - ₹ 9,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing