We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the devils in the detail”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #8 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“the devils in the detail”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A group of us stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a long weekend the , every need was catered for, a fantastic breakfast, a modern interior , pleasant informative owners this guest house goes the extra mile.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duecalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    74
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
472
48
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed in Fraoch house for 3 nights and it was a great experience. They pay real attention to detail. The room was spaceous and nicely decorated and everything was clean and worked properly. The bed was confortable and the temperature in the room appropriately warm, as I visited in early spring. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but it was in immaculate condition, the shower was strong, the towels new and fluffy and there was a full range of complimentary toileteries. The breakfast had a wide range of first quality food to choose from.

You need to take the bus to reach the center of the city, but the central street is nearby and the trip is short. Moreover, Edinburgh is not big and so this was not an inconvenience. The advantage of the place not being very central was that it was totally quiet during the night. Overall, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenny-athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We're not fans of big corporate hotels so this B&B was exactly what we were looking for. The house and rooms are really nicely decorated - modern but with some original features. We had everything we needed and breakfast was great. It's about a 30 minute walk to the centre but there is a bus stop right outside Fraoch house that we used a couple of times. If we visit Edinburgh again, we will come back here.

Room Tip: Don' be put off by basement rooms - these are still bright and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexbrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civitanova Marche, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed 2 nights here and it was very good. Reasonable price,excellent breakfast,very friendly staff, nice rooms!!! Definitly i will go back again!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I can't really add to the previous reviews, but easily one of the best places I've ever stayed.
Gareth is very friendly, and recommends loads of places to visit and/or eat, he allowed us to leave our bags until the rooms were ready, and the rooms were very comfortable.
Breakfast excellent - all you need - fruit, pastries, cereals, bread and cooked, and topped off by true value for money.
Hope to be back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arfortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Property: Fraoch House
Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,980 - ₹ 9,634
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing