We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience ”
Review of Kathy's Knits

Kathy's Knits
Ranked #49 of 206 Shopping in Edinburgh
Attraction details
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had such a pleasant time chatting with Kathy. She put a kit together for me to knit a fair isle hat. If you are planning a trip to Edinburgh, put this on your list of yarn shops to visit, you will be happy you did!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MargaretF1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"yarns"
in 6 reviews
"wool"
in 2 reviews
"material"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 7 reviews
"shawl"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2018

Kathy's Knits was the only yarn store I made it to as it was right in the city ("New" Edinburgh) and didn't require an hour's transport. It's a small shop, but full of local yarns, which was my goal to find. The employee minding the shop was very friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank okie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I raced to this beautiful little yarn store on Saturday, with just 20 minutes left before it closed. The owner answered all my questions about natural fibres and unique yarns I couldn't get in Canada. She let me just wander and touch all the yarn and was available to answer any questions I had. The store was neat and tidy and we'll organized. I found some lovely made for the shop yarn and it's now in my suitcase. The owner was absolutely lovely. I would definitely come back. The selection of only British made yarns is fantastic. The owner is knowledgeable and personable.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank worldtraveller1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

When I planned to go to Edinburgh, I already knew what I wanted to bring back as a lasting souvenir: some Scottish yarn to knit a comfy Scottish something. I found this shop online, as no one in our hotel could tell us where we could find the famous material.
The shop is well hidden (had to ask the flower shop accross the street for directions), but the location adds to the cocooning feeling of the place. Tiny but tidy, with lots of colors and beautiful, quality yarns, and an inviting sofa to take a look at the various books. Cathy helped me pick the yarn for a specific pattern, and she also gave me good advices later by email to fix and finish my project.
A very happy experience!

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Fanny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2015

I was quite surprised what a challenge it was to find Scottish made wool , in a country with sheep all over the place . Found kathy's place on line . Easy to locate , but again only one Scottish wool available so I had to buy some . Looking forward to creating something with it to remind me of my Scotland vacation .

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Diane9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathy's Knits also viewed

 

Been to Kathy's Knits? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing