We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

The Castle Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
The Castle Snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
mandydunc...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Now the 5th time here and still the most perfect getaway escape in Edinburgh. Absolute gem and never fails to please.
Thank you Brian and Christine!
From
Mandy and Calvin
(Loving the new bathroom)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vix P
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a treat it was to stay here! The snug is ideally placed towards the top of the Royal mile, very easy to find, over the top of the Jolly Judge pub (not that you'd know it, you can't hear anything from the pub at all in the snug)

Inside its absolutely beautiful. It was larger than I thought it would be from the YouTube video, with a fully functioning kitchen, dinning table, Chesterfield sofa, two arm chairs and a gas fire.

There is plenty of storage space under the mezzanine too and the bathroom has just been beautifully redone. Although the bathroom is very small, it works well and has a good shower.

Only issue we had was with the oven which I understand has now been rectified. That and the issue I preferred the upstairs beds d my husband prefers the fold out one!

I can't wait to rebook, it is a magically property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnandRi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic from the moment we walked in!”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

As soon as you open the door you know you are somewhere special, would not believe you are only a few yards from a main city street, spotlessly clean with the fire on leaves you not wanting to go out again, the owner could not have been more helpful, would love to go back again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris O
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing & atmospheric lodgings”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Castle Snug last weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday. The correspondence with the owner was excellent prior to our stay and he sent through great directions so we could easily find it when we arrived. It was a short walk up the hill from the airport shuttle bus stop. The location was excellent, right on the royal mile and only a 5 minute walk to the castle. Plus the open top bus tour stopped on the other side of the road. Loads of good places to eat within a 10min walk. The room was really well furnished and the fire / stove was very atmospheric at night. The owners had left some tea / coffee and milk for us as well as some biscuits and fudge which were appreciated by us and the kids. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was very modern and like the rest of the place very clean. On the whole we had a fantastic time and we would recommend it to anyone thinking of travelling either with other adults or kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, furnishings and overall feel
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflux
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my girlfriend came here the day before valentines day, and it was something different. It was romantic having our own wee castle for the night. It has everything we needed in it, a pub next door and shops out on the main street. It wasn't too far from the train station either. I'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: I cant fault anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing