We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“to find another place like this one would be at...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New Town Apartment

One double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
One double bedroom
Edinburgh's New Town
Comfortable living room with bedsofa
Private garden with seating area
Livingroom with free wifi
Fully equipped kitchen
Cosy apartment
Bedroom
Outdoor seating area
New Town main door apartment
Shower room
Access from the street via stairs
Hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
yuchenflo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“to find another place like this one would be at least 30 pounds more per night”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I am on a tour de england with my patents after graduation, we have been to five towns, lived in places of similar price range, including a holiday rental, nothing came close to this gem in the lower ground of new town edinburgh. the middle/upper class neighbour hood is extremely quiet, fifteen mins walking to waverly, with a small convenient store around the corner.

the apartment itself is impeccable. As I am writing this review, I am listening to music i picked out of fifty sth CDs in the lounge, which comes with three murals, a working fireplace and view of the delicate backyard with a table and chairs. you can find the rest in other reviews and the description.

The host Sylvie is a star.

if there is anything you could complain, is that it is 20 mins walk away from the nearest sainsbury, from where you can get stuff to utilise the fully packed kitchen.

Enough of spoilers, enjoy edinburgh.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely words, we were delighted to host you, and would welcome you guys back anytime you return to Scotland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muddydogs
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, loved our stay here.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Husband and I stayed here with our adult daughter and loved it. Good location, walk to shops, sights and restaurants. Owner was very helpful and obliging. It was clean, had everything we needed and some lovely personal touches. I can't wait to go back to Edinburgh and book in here for a longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable apartment.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and time in our apartment and Edinburgh. We would be delighted to see you back some time, and many thanks for the kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AileenJoh...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here as I was taking part in the Edinburgh Moonwalk. This flat was only 1 mile from Inverleith Park so excellent location for us, plus I believe pretty close to centre of town. it was a small but perfectly formed little flat and I loved the little garden we had out the back. Felt like we were in a tropical garden which was great.

The owner left milk, bread and butter in the fridge which is always appreciated and a nice bowl of chocolates in the living room.

There is a nice bar at the end of the street called The Cumberland Bar which had a nice selection of real ales and is very close proximity to Broughton Street which has lots of nice bars and restaurants on it.

All in all would totally reccomend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The bed was very comfy to sink into after walking 26.2 miles around Edinburgh!
Liked least: The bathroom was a bit small for me but it was perfectly formed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for the kind words and positive feedback. Please feel free to contact us on your next visit to Edinburgh, and we would be more than happy for you to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian O
1 review
“So much better than a hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely flat,so easy and relaxing. Nice welcome by owner and ideally placed to discover Edinburgh. Much better option than staying at an hotel

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thanks a million for the kind review. We are particularly pleased with the "so much better than a hotel" comment. We always strive to make our guests feel happy, and comfortable, and are really grateful when we get good positive feedback from customers. We would love to host you any time you are back in Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo M
Dornoch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need and more, in perfect location”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

New Town Apartment was truly excellent. It was easy to book and pay for. The description is accurate but the reality is much better. We were made to feel very welcome in this chic apartment, which provided everything we could ever need and was extremely comfortable. The outside space was beautiful, and we looked forward to getting back after our planned activities each day. The location is perfect - the city is within easy walking distance, and there is also the attractions of Stockbridge nearby. Sylvie could not have been more helpful, and her contact was very reassuring. We would highly recommend this New Town Apartment - we hope to visit it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The vintage, chic feel of the property and its location.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for the excellent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hosting you next time you are in Edinburgh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;