We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Had to get a taxi from the train station, go to an address that they gave us,pick up the key for the apartment, while keeping the taxi running then off to the apartment. A wee bit hassle but not terrible. The building is lovely and modern, and we were on the sixth floor but there was a lift. First impressions were great, modern, clean and very well equipped. The heat was an issue, crazy in Scotland!!! But the ceiling to floor windows were wasted as we had to pull the blinds down to try and cool the apartment down. We had a fan which we had to plug in at night. We had a one bedroom apt and it was perfect for our stay. It took us roughly 15 minutes to walk into the grass market, so very well placed for sight seeing and shopping. There are shops within 2 minutes of the apartment and restaurants, if you don't want to wander into the city, overall would recommend the Quartermile apts . Only issue was the beautiful cream bedroom carpet had a big dirty orange stain on it!!! Not nice..

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the front with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank NIcola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2016

We were booked into a Scotia Grand Residence apartment for a two night stay to take part in the Edinburgh marathon (reserved through Hotels.com). Upon arrival at the Quartermile on the Saturday afternoon, the Scotia reception was locked up and empty. A representative from a nearby company informed us that the local franchise of Scotia Residences had gone in to liquidation. We called Scotia and were told that they would look in to the matter with someone from the Edinburgh franchise - but the call back was never received. We spent three hours of the Saturday afternoon on the phone to Hotels.com and dealt with the most incompetent call handlers who were unable to find us alternative accommodation. We eventually found ourselves a bed for the night and returned home early the next day.

We are now trying to recoup our money from Hotels.com

Scotia Residence are an absolute disgrace. We were informed that the local owner is Scott Coleman. He should be ashamed of himself.

Stay well away from Scotia Residence - and indeed Hotels.com

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We booked an apartment to see our son who is at University and watch the international. The room we were offered looked over a building site was noisy and the workers could see straight in through the windows. A second room offered was at street level, noisy and had cheap and damaged furniture. The rooms look nothing like the photos. As it was international weekend we had to spend £600 for suitable replacement. As seen from other reviews Scott Coleman of Grand Scotia was nothing but rude in his correspondence and threatened to sue me if I wrote this review. Finally he agreed to settle to pay £150 back but after a month we have not seen the money. He has made the excuse by e mail he has been in hospital. If he can write an e mail he can certainly set up a bank transfer. I am now taking him to the Sheriff courts out of principal. ***Beware***

Room Tip: get a room not overlooking a building site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

So we booked these apartments for a hen party for last month through the MD Scott? Never have I received such bad customer service from him. When we booked this place he was aware it was a hen party even though he mentioned that they don't normally accept it but as long as we behaved then it would be fine. Therefore he had a month to let us know if he didn't want us to stay there. The website doesn't say that they don't accept hen parties either!

Communication with Scott was awful from the beginning... I had to chase him numerous times to just confirm the transfers. He ignored my phone calls and emails, and in the end (the night before) he finally confirmed it was booked!

When we got there, we left our bags there as check in was few ours later. So we had arranged a gorgeous lunch for the bride to be...while eating we got a call from scotia grande to say that we can no longer stay at the apartments as they conveniently had a gas leak! They couldn't put us up in a like for like apartment in the whole of Edinburgh and were the most unhelpful people. Bearing in mind we were 7 girls from the Midlands and didn't know the area very well! All they told us was that they can refund us the money... And had no intention of helping us find an alternative.
It put a real downer on our weekend when it was meant to be a special weekend for the bride to be. We didn't mind if they were sympathetic or apologetic about it, but they were rude and tried their best to get rid of us.

Never had anyone experienced such bad customer service from anyone before. And we were shocked!

Reading back on their reviews... Looks like this is not the first time they have come up with a poor excuse... If they didn't want us there, they had a month to tell us instead of ruining our weekend!

I have never written a trip advisor review before but I felt this was definitely necessary.....I will never recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
10  Thank Roops D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the one bedroom apartment. It was absolutely fabulous, immaculately clean and well equipped for
Self catering it had everything you could possibly need in a kitchen, even had a full spice rack. There was also a fresh bottle of milk in the fridge when we arrived including sachets of tea coffee and sugar. The views were amazing, although I have to note we stayed on the 8th floor so we had brilliant views of Edinburgh castle but if you looked down you saw workmen and construction as they are building more apartments opposite so might have not been as nice had we been any lower. This is not however any reflection of the apartment company there's not a lot they can do about that. Also just to mention if you are driving up to the location the place you have to pick up the keys is about a 5 minute drive away but there is no parking near the office so we had to park at the car park next to the castle and walk about 15 minutes to the office, parking cost £5.50. There are other alternatives so just make sure you research this before you go.
Staff member Clair at the office was very knowledgeable of parking/surrounding area and very friendly if you have any questions.
Right next to the apartment was a fresh bakery shop looked nice but we didn't use, and a Starbucks and sainsburys local so you don't need to take food if you don't want to you can just buy from there.
Very close to Scottish museum, about 10 mins and about 15 mins walk to the castle.
All in all a great place to stay i would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xmorgansx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,095 reviews
Old Town
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#6 of 218 in Edinburgh
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments

Address: 2 Lister Square, Edinburgh EH3 9GL, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Residence - Quartermile Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 5,880 - ₹ 35,734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotia Grand Residence offer 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom immaculately presented apartments in the prestigious and sort after Quartermile development. Situated within walking distance of the city centre and Royal Mile, these luxury apartments have been finished to the highest standard and make for a relaxing and memorable stay. All apartments offer lift access and are entirely self-contained. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotia Grand Residence - Quartermile Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing