We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, helpful staff.”
Review of Portsburgh Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portsburgh Court
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I stayed here for the tattoo, when rooms in Edinburgh are at a premium, but I had a very nice double studio with a view of the castle, with bathroom and kitchen for a very reasonable cost. This is student accommodation in term time, and I was slightly concerned at what it might be like. The room was spotless, well equipped with cooker, microwave, iron etc., and the young staff were friendly and helpful.I liked the key card access to the front door and room, it made it very secure.
It was very handy for walking back from the tattoo late at night, 15 minutes, all down hill, and the main route for the crowd, so I wasn't walking alone.
There is a Sainsburys one stop on the corner, and Grassmarket, with a fair selection of pub type restaurants is a 5 minute walk.
The only complaint I had, (minor) was the bed was a bit lumpy.
A bit of tourist info by reception would have been appreciated , with local bus service routes, as despite Edinburgh being a tourist city, I found information hard to come by.
I don't have an i-phone, but it really is essential here!

From Waverley station take a 5 minute walk down Princes St.turn left, and from outside the National Gallery on The Mound side, Lothian bus 23 and 27 will take you to Chalmers Hospital at the top of Lady Lawson St. It runs via The mound, Castle hill, George IV Bridge and Greyfriars, So no need for an expensive tour bus ticket.

Room Tip: 610, despite being near the lift, was very quiet and had a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gilly2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

We spend there just 1 night, but it was good option. It is in walking distance from railway station (in case if you haven't got much luggage). Down the street is a supermarket. Facilities are in good condition. Staff members are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nika_Alov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I rented 3 rooms with a shared kitchen/diner during last years Fringe. The rooms were quite basic but were cleaned regularly and any problems we had (e.g. the door closer broke) were sorted within a couple of hours. The reception staff and room staff were helpful and friendly. The only problem was that the launderette card was often elsewhere and so it was difficult to arrange washing but even with this the staff went out of the way to be helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this for accommodation during the Fringe and would have booked again this year but the room arrangements have changed and are in blocks of 5 so I have chosen the Chalmers Street accommodation which I trust will be equally good.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

This is modern student accommodation that they let during the vacation. It's quite a big set up. The rooms are small; the bed is intimate for two, and you get a little bathroom with a shower and loo and a kitchenette. It's clean, everything works, and you get new sheets and towels once during the week. £600 seems an awful lot for a week . But prices do go sky high during the Fringe, and it's probably competitive. It's about 400 yards from two key venues (the Traverse and Sweet Grass market) and 90 per cent are within half an hour's walk. And you can save a lot of money by self catering.
We found the receptionist particularly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

A group of 17 middle aged women on a hen weekend had a fabulous time at portsburgh court. The staff are extremely helpful and we really want to thank them for that. The location is just a few minutes from the Grass market and was ideal. We stayed in 2x 5 bedroom flats with some of us sharing the double bedded rooms. The beds are small doubles so if you don't know the person you are sharing with very well or you are expecting hot weather I would recommend you have a room to yourself.
These rooms are basic, after all they are usually student accomodation. So if you like luxury they may not be your cup of tea. Previous reviews have said the beds are uncomfortable. This was not our experience. There is a great common room down in the basement which was ideal for late night drinks and card games without a group of cackling women having to worry about disturbing other people. In conclusion if you are looking for a visit low budget easy access to the town place to stay in Edinburgh with staff who will do everything they can to help you then this is the place. Thank you!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank GMG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,612 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,014 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsburgh Court? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsburgh Court

Address: 56 Lady Lawson Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Portsburgh Court 2.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Portsburgh Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsburgh Court Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing