We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 835
US$ 189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 835
US$ 136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 230
US$ 187
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$ 182
US$ 138
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 494
US$ 274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 325
US$ 280
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 576
US$ 502
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 835
US$ 755
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
9
23
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
23
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudent accommodationshared kitchenfringe venuesfree wifiminute walkflatscookersupermarkettattoograssmarkettowelsmicrowavebedcastlereceptionhostelscotland
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We spend there just 1 night, but it was good option. It is in walking distance from railway station (in case if you haven't got much luggage). Down the street is a supermarket. Facilities are in good condition. Staff members are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nika_Alov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I rented 3 rooms with a shared kitchen/diner during last years Fringe. The rooms were quite basic but were cleaned regularly and any problems we had (e.g. the door closer broke) were sorted within a couple of hours. The reception staff and room staff were helpful and friendly. The only problem was that the launderette card was often elsewhere and so it was difficult to arrange washing but even with this the staff went out of the way to be helpful. I have no hesitation in recommending this for accommodation during the Fringe and would have booked again this year but the room arrangements have changed and are in blocks of 5 so I have chosen the Chalmers Street accommodation which I trust will be equally good.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

This is modern student accommodation that they let during the vacation. It's quite a big set up. The rooms are small; the bed is intimate for two, and you get a little bathroom with a shower and loo and a kitchenette. It's clean, everything works, and you get new sheets and towels once during the week. £600 seems an awful lot for a week . But prices do go sky high during the Fringe, and it's probably competitive. It's about 400 yards from two key venues (the Traverse and Sweet Grass market) and 90 per cent are within half an hour's walk. And you can save a lot of money by self catering.
We found the receptionist particularly friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

A group of 17 middle aged women on a hen weekend had a fabulous time at portsburgh court. The staff are extremely helpful and we really want to thank them for that. The location is just a few minutes from the Grass market and was ideal. We stayed in 2x 5 bedroom flats with some of us sharing the double bedded rooms. The beds are small doubles so if you don't know the person you are sharing with very well or you are expecting hot weather I would recommend you have a room to yourself.
These rooms are basic, after all they are usually student accomodation. So if you like luxury they may not be your cup of tea. Previous reviews have said the beds are uncomfortable. This was not our experience. There is a great common room down in the basement which was ideal for late night drinks and card games without a group of cackling women having to worry about disturbing other people. In conclusion if you are looking for a visit low budget easy access to the town place to stay in Edinburgh with staff who will do everything they can to help you then this is the place. Thank you!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank GMG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Shared a five bed roomed flat with four friends. Pleasant reception staff, clean but basic accomodation. Easy walk to the castle for the Tattoo and to fringe venues. Expensive for student accommodation but great value compared with hotels during the Fringe and has the option of self catering to keep the costs down.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Poppiesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews