We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base for Fringe Festival visit - worth...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
166 reviews
Entrance Hallway
Living Room
View From Living Room Window
Street Level View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 166 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
souroldb1...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Fringe Festival visit - worth climbing the stairs for!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Whilst looking for accommodation for our trip to Edinburgh, I happened upon this apartment and booked it based on previous positive reviews posted here. I'm glad to report that everything I read was true and the photos on the site are genuine.
Mark was a pleasure to deal with and always responded quickly to questions I asked via the website both before and after I had made the booking. He was really flexible and went out of his way to accommodate specific requirements in advance of our stay.
On arrival, we were greeted by Mark's dad, Martin, who was lovely. He showed us around the apartment and gave us the lowdown on the local area.
We had a great time in Edinburgh thanks, in no small part, to the fact that our accommodation was so welcoming, clean and comfortable with a great view of Calton Hill from the lounge and so much else included in the price, as well as being just a short walk to both Edinburgh Waverley Station and the main fringe festival action.
The only slight negatives that I can think of - and I'm really being picky here - are the three flights of stairs up to the property (63 steps in total), which we knew about in advance, and also the toilet cistern filled up really slowly after flushing which was a little inconvenient for the 4 of us staying as we had a tight schedule with lots of shows to cram in to our stay.
The apartment itself was a fantastic base for our Edinburgh Fringe experience and we all agreed that we had been really lucky to find such an amazing place to stay for such a reasonable price during festival season.
Thanks again & we'll definitely be thinking about returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, flexibility of owner, pretty much everything really.
Liked least: Number of stairs and slow toilet flush
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and insightful review. We also appreciate you raising the points on the cistern as we were unaware - we have just had our plumber in to replace it with a brand new one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

All the best,
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Beth...
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
“A lovely flat - comfortable, clean and convenient for exploring Edinburgh”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful stay. The flat was very comfortable, clean and conveniently located. Well appointed kitchen with a few welcome items were a very nice touch. Comfortable bedding and a sunny living room made for a cozy experience. Mark was very helpful and easy to work with. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Hi Mary-Beth, thank you for your kindly worded review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamlil
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious well located appartment”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner, friends and I really enjoyed staying at this spacious well decorated and furnished apartment. The owner was extremely helpful and the apartment was well equipped with all necessities making it a home from home experience (even a dishwasher and hamper of gifts, teas, coffees etc) The walk to the top floor kept us fit - but it was situated so close to the town, restaurants, cinema etc. We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely experience of staying in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and homely apartment
Liked least: Being on top floor with no lift
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review, it's so appreciated. Glad to hear that you had a great time and the apartment had everything that you needed! All the best, Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewitthou...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Awesome and nicer than I could have imagined!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Mark is the best. His place is impeccable and near the heart of Edinburgh. 2 nice sized bedrooms plus a great family room. It offers all that you need for a visit to Edinburgh. I wish I could give his place 10 stars because that it what it is. Mark was always very responsive!

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your fantastic place!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the apartment. We couldn't ask for nicer guests and we hope to welcome you back, should you be visiting Edinburgh (and the golf!) again. Best Wishes, Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susiewrig...
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy home in a wonderful Scottish neighborhood.”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We just returned from three days at this great home. The apartment was had lots of room and a great view of the city. Edinburgh is wonderful, poetic town with so much to see. After walking all day, it was great to return to this home.
Mark and his father Martin were a great help. Martin even carried my husbands golf bag up the three flights of stairs! Thanks again Martin!
We hope to return again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed feeling of the home
Liked least: The three level staircase
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! So glad to hear you enjoyed staying in our apartment, and we hope to welcome you back some day! Many thanks & Best Wishes, Mark & Martin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing