We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thistle Hotel Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Ranked #92 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thistle Hotel Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is the second visit for us to this hotel and we just wouldn't think of even trying anywhere else. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good. All in all great value for money and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We have had two different rooms at each side of the hotel and both have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking time and comment on your second visit to the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel great value for money. Thank you for recommending us. It is a great feeling of customer satisfaction when we have guests coming back.

Thank you once again and we will be very happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    231
    76
    26
    16
See reviews for
121
256
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We loved the fact that it was a small hotel in a quiet location. It has lots of personality and a friendly staff. However, room 22 is not one I can recommend, as the mattress on one of the two beds is not worthy of the name--the springs running up and down the so-called mattress every 18 inches or so made it feel like a bed of nails. Impossible. In addition, I had booked a room with a castle view, which I didn't get. So, while I would stay in this hotel again, I would make sure to test the beds before getting all unpacked.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 22!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AVRITSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time and comment on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Sad to hear you had problems with the mattress in your room, only if you had mentioned it earlier to a member of staff we could have moved you to another room, which could have made your stay a bit more comfortable. Thanks for letting us know, we have taken your comment onboard and the mattress is getting changed.

We just have two rooms with the Castle View, and we try our best to accomodate most of our guests, unfortunately on this occasion we could not accomodate you, on your next visit to Edinburgh we will make sure you have a room with the Castle view and your mattress is comfortable.

Thank you once again for your comments and hope the above issues won't stop you from visiting us again.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The Thistle is in one of the many historic Edinburgh houses which have had to reinvent themselves as hotels, guest houses, office suites or simply been divided into apartments. It is in a neighbourhood of large stone terraces west of the original Georgian New Town, and you can reach either Princes Street or the (National) Modern Art Gallery on foot in about fifteen minutes. It is in what is obviously a usually quiet street, but the disruption of Edinburgh's traffic thanks to seemingly endless roadworks and closures has made it busier during the day. That didn't disturb our sleep. The real positives of the hotel, the selling points, are the good location and the staff, who could not be more friendly and helpful. The en-suite bedrooms are large. As a couple we got a triple room, and our friend on his own a double! An unexpected plus was that ours had a very spacious wardrobe which would have been useful on a longer stay. If there is a negative to mention, it is that the building is pretty tall and has no lift. We and our friend were on the second and first floors, so we had no problem, but I'd leave anything higher up to the young and fit. A more trivial point is that the sash windows in both rooms could do with fixing - we got ours to open, and stay open, by cunning ways and means, so as to have fresh air, but this must be fixable in a city with thousands of similar historic windows. Call 'Sashes R Us'? We had opted for the full Scottish breakfast, which was good, although by the second day two of us went for something less ambitious. (Too much good food in Edinburgh!). The breakfast room was pleasant, and there was a bar/lounge downstairs which in fact we never got to use - too busy round town. All in all, an enjoyable stay at the Thistle.

Room Tip: Don't aim too high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Glad to know you had a enjoyable stay at the Thistle. As far as the windows are concerned, they can all be opened up to a certain extent, yes they do take a little extra effort as some of them are huge, but the good news is that all the hotel windows are getting replaced with new ones, so on your next visit I am sure you won't have probelms with the old Sash windows.

Thank you once again for your comments and we will be happy to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely small hotel with freindly staff and nice bedrooms on a quiet residential road. We were having a weekend away with the family, although no children. It is a short walk to Princes street through a stunning georgian neighbour. Inside they have retained many of the original features in the reception and hallways. They have a excellent free map available at reception that we used to navigate our way around. A chinese and Indian resturant at the end of the road. I think it was good value for money a lot of similar priced hotels in the area did not look as nice and most of them have roadworks going on outside for the new tram system.

Room Tip: The Twin room on the first floor was huge, two double beds and a gigantic Flat screen TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and comment on you recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Nice to know you liked the original features of this Georgian building, we have tried our best to maintain most of the features of this wonderful building, and we keep improving.

With the road works going on around the city for the new tram system it is a bit chaotic, but hopefully it will end soon.

Thank you for the lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Beautiful old character building in a quiet location, only a few minutes walk from Haymarket train station and close to the city centre. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and it is clear that the owners of the hotel take great pride in their establishment and the comfort of their guests. The room was comfortable and spacious and the continental breakfast, with warm croissants, was excellent. My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lweet_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thistlehot, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time and feedback on your recent stay at the Edinburgh Thistle Hotel.

Pleased to know you liked the beautiful old character and the quiet location of this wonderful Georgian building. Happy to know the staff at the Thistle met your expectations.

Rightly said the Owners do take great pride in their establishment and the comfort of all our guests, we try our best to give personal attention to all our guests so that they feel at home.

Good to know you found the hotel rooms comfortable and spacious and enjoyed the breakfast aswell. Thank you for recommending us and we will be happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Thistle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Property: Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,050 - ₹ 16,515
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing