We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The expected standard for a Novotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #74 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beccles, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The expected standard for a Novotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is a perfectly good hotel, located close to the city centre, New Town and Castle.

We've stayed here twice now, and it's an entirely reasonable Novotel - modern and efficient without any major faults. We've not driven either time, coming by train instead - a 20 minute walk to the station which is fine - so can't comment on parking which looks a bit tricky this centrally. E-mailing ahead meant we could get into our room at 8am having come up by sleeper, which was really helpful. A helpful luggage room makes dropping bags off easy anyway.

Breakfast is OK - we managed to get a decent offer on the web of half price - and free for kids, and, like any Novotel, the ability to have two kids in the same room as two adults means that we'll keep coming back to Novotels time after time. Web prices are much reduced if you get some luck and book far enough in advance - we've got rooms for £55 a night.

The bar's reasonable and there's free wifi in reception and a pool if you want that.

Yes, it's corporate and lacks charm and cuteness. But it's entirely reasonable if you don't plan on spending most of your time in the hotel anyway.

Room Tip: Even overlooking the road it was quiet enough for me to sleep, and I don't sleep well with any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSquareThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    1,040
    404
    105
    37
See reviews for
690
856
115
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We ran an event for 25 clients here and found the business rooms to be very good. We would have liked to have stayed here the night before the event but when we tried to add room bookings to our event booking the hotel tried to charge us a higher rate than was available on their normal web site. I think they assumed event organisers would just stay at the same hotel as their event regardless of the cost and tried to bump the rate up. We weren't impressed at this apparent policy and got a price at the PremierInn next door which although not quite as good as other Novotels I've stayed at was quite adequate and much less expensive. The conference room had a faulty light and heating when we arrived but this was very quickly fixed. There is a breakout area in the business centre which was very modern, clean and well equipped - so well equipped there was even a Wii for delegates to use during coffee breaks! The room was a bit more expensive than some other venues we've used for events but was worth it due to the good facilities and breakout area. We would use this hotel again but would hope running an event there would get us a discount on normal overnight rates for the event organisers not an increase in price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a night at this hotel as a treat while going out for dinner in Edinburgh and had a really good experience. The staff on the desk were very helpful and really knowledgeable about the area making good recommendations. Breakfast was busy but we didn't need to queue and the food set us up for the day. The room was clean and had a nice view of Edinburgh Castle which was a bonus! We didn't make use of the pool but it did look nice and very quiet.
We would come back to this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for two nights, hotel was clean , comfortable and well designed. Good location ten minutes walk from Princes street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethalLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Edinburgh Centre. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in Novotel with my wife for 3 nights and I enjoyed every minute of Edinburgh. Novotel is in a perfect location, 2 minutes walk from the bustling grassmarket, 5 minutes from Edinburgh castle and approx 15 mins to princes st. Hotel was fantastic in general, clean, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. The leisure centre is great after a long days walking around the city. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat in the hotel, breakfast was very expensive so we used the small cafe's around the grassmarket of which there are plenty! 16.50 in my opinion is excessive for breakfast. The toilet in the room is separate from the bathroom which is a little off putting not to mention unhygienic. All said, I would still recommend this hotel for it's location, friendly staff and overall good experience had.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tango24778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Edinburgh Centre again very soon. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,822 - ₹ 13,968
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing