We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced no reception as such”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle View Guest House
Ranked #70 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Booked for two nights with a friend for some sight seeing. Central location. Clean room. Basic guest house with extremely noisy units in bathroom ( which we were told were pumps as pipes are too narrow, and they cannot change them as it is a listed building) Very noisy sound like a motor running all night long. Outside noise until early hours of morning, also road works outside my bedroom. Not a relaxing experience. Perfect if you don't require much sleep and want to be close to centre of town.
Breakfast, basic. Staff all pleasant.
Over priced. Strange hallway with no reception area, only a buzzer with a telephone number to call if no reply from buzzer.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Castle View Guest House for 5 days in mid-March and it was wonderful. The room was large for the 3 of us and the private bathroom in our room was clean and modern. Breakfast in the morning was substantial and delicious. The location is great - just around the corner from shops, restaurants and pubs and a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Mile. From the sidewalk in front you have a great view of Edinburgh Castle. The most memorable thing about staying here was the service. Majik checked us in and gave us a walk through of the building and our room and made sure everything was perfect before he left us. When we told them we had a tour the next day and would have to leave very early in the morning they made sure we had some food to take "on the go" with us (croissants, cheese, ham, fruit). They even made sure we had a taxi ready to take us to the airport when we checked out. All of the staff were cheerful and very helpful.

As some reviewers mentioned, there are stairs to climb and no elevator. We didn't find the stairs a problem. In fact, the city of Edinburgh is full of stairs and I saw few elevators except in main public buildings such as museums. i would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webecapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Booked to stay there - on arrival on Friday night told us that they had double booked us - gave us a room for friday night and then got us into another place with a small room 25 minutes walk away - didnt offer to pay for taxi to get us there -wasted time getting there and checking in etc - it was a bit further away from the centre - thus used more taxis. Told us that they had struck a deal with the other place and got us a discount. we were told by two independant members of staff in the second hotel that they would have charged us the same price any way and that the hotel is always 'double booking'. I asked castle view for refund of first night stay and was offered £20 for extra taxi usage - didnt even bother replying - will not stay again or recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The main fault with the room was that the toilet sounded like it had the runs. Worse still was the smell - it smelt like sewage.

Everytime we switched on a tap or the shower, the toilet made a very loud distressing sound.

The next day they barely cleaned the room - i was actually questioning if they even cleaned it.

As for the view, the hotel needs to be at the end of the street, rather than the middle as the castle is at the end and if you stick your head out far enough, you can actually see the castle from one point in the dining room.

On the plus side, the rooms were big, the location was good, and so was the breakfast.

Despite the toilet issue,and distinct lack of any castle view, it would have been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_tortillaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff and accomodations at the Castle View Guest House are absolutely wonderful! The guest house is located in a perfect location with an AWESOME view of the castle out of our bay window (Burns Room). It is a short walk (10 mins) to the royal mile. Street noise is there, but not at all distracting. The made to order breakfast (served from 0370-0930) was better than expected. My wife and I couldn't have been happier with our stay, and Edinburgh is an absolutely beautiful city! We had an amazing weekend, thanks to the staff! We hope to be back in the future, and will definitely stay at the Castle View Guest House!

Room Tip: Burns room could sleep 4 comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Queens Guest House
Queens Guest House
#66 of 393 in Edinburgh
338 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
459 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guest House

Address: 30 Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,533 - ₹ 24,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Castle View Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing