We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Deal”
Review of Rabble Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rabble Rooms
Ranked #120 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We took advantage of the hotel group's spring offer, which consisted of a night's stay, 2 course dinner (from the resident's menu), bottle of prosecco and breakfast for 2. We arrived slightly early and were expecting to have to sit in the bar for half an hour until we were allowed to check in. However, the staff member could not have been more helpful and showed us straight up to our room.

The room itself was clean, slightly smaller than we had anticipated but this was not an issue. The bed was huge and really comfy (great night's sleep). The pre-loaded iPod and GHD straighteners were a nice touch. The room is maybe in need of a slight spruce up, as one of the curtains was hanging off the rail and there was a wardrobe door missing, in general the room looked a bit tired but was fine for our one night stay. No real issues with bins being emptied as pervious comments had stated, however due to the thin walls and the wooden floors in the hallway be prepared to potential be woken by people coming back in from a night out. All rooms receive a free newspaper in the morning and don't you know it when it's thrown down outside each and every room at 8am!!! Also, the cleaning staff were a bit keen to get started and proceeded to dump clean linen on the floor in the hall along with their cleaning products. This was not done quietly especially when it's just after 8am and we didn't think this looked particularly professional as it was still lying there when we left the room to check out at 10.30am.

Disappointed with the portions sizes, choices and quality of the menu, wouldn't have dined here had it not been included in the deal. In saying that breakfast was really good by comparison, lots of choice and very tasty!

Service was varied at best, some members of staff couldn't be more helpful, others couldn't of cared less, which did affect our overall experience.

Overall, Rick's is a great place to go for drink's on a Saturday night, but would definitely have to think twice about eating there and probably won't stay there again (although this would be a hard decision given the comfy bed). Lots of potential but needs to up its game, probably better to go stay at sister hotel Tigerlily if a boutique hotel is what your after. However all this said, given what we paid it turned out to be good value for money and is in a ideal location for city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghGoose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 327 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent staff, location one block from shopping in George Street. Great restaurants in Thistle lane right next door. Breakfast all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor avoid recycling noise am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lochnagar1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Arrived very late (nearly 11 pm), staff were very helpful and got me to my room which was just perfect, had good nights sleep and enjoyed an excellent breakfast the only sad thing was they asked me to read the Scotsman. Staff knew I was going to another group hotel and offered to take my luggage what service! Great central location with lovely staff definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cujimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Lovely staff, very relaxed stay, good food and fab location (small rooms but to be expected for a boutique hotel that's so central)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cu1turesponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel was spotless and very friendly staff would defiantly go back ASAP

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquieSutherland, Rick's Reception at Rabble Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,744 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
695 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
832 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
336 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabble Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabble Rooms

Address: 55A Frederick Street, Edinburgh EH2 1LH, Scotland (Formerly Rick's)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,356 - ₹ 15,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rabble Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rabble Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rick`s Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Hotel Edinburgh
Ricks Edinburgh
Rabble Rooms Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing