We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best apartment.”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
vanessasR...
Murcia, Spain
1 review
“Best apartment. ”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The apartment was awesome, perfect to stay with family and very very comfortable.
If you go to Edinburgh make sure to stay here you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment - it is good to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard7
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent location, special touch.”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 days at Browns Close and what a fabulous time we had, I highly recommend this place.
The owner David met us at the flat, he is very friendly and gave us excellent directions on near-by amenities and places to go.
The apartment itself is lovely and clean, it has a cosy lounge with a balcony from which you can see the new Parliament building.
There is a well-equipped kitchen with everything you could possibly need, and a bright bathroom with electric shower.
The bedroom has an extremely comfortable large double bed, plus there’s a spacious comfy sofa bed in the lounge.

As always when I travel, I find it’s the little touches that make a place special and at Browns Close they have thought of everything.
We each had a set of fluffy white towels and facecloths for the bathroom, plenty of double-ply loo roll (I hate it when places skimp on toilet paper), a brand new shower gel plus individually wrapped Lux soap.
The kitchen had tea towels, dishcloths, washing up liquid etc , but in addition there were basic spices (salt/pepper) tea, coffee, sugar and also a breakfast/snack tray with cereals, hot chocolate, and shortcake biscuits. David had even put a pint of milk in the fridge for us. There’s loads of space and hangers in the bedroom cupboards, a box of tissues on the dressing table and a hair dryer. This kind of attention to detail really means a lot and makes it so easy for visitors to settle in.

Browns Close is in a really great location, after a long morning walk up the crags don’t miss full breakfast at Clarinda's Tea Room, or if you’re too late get yourself a pulled pork roll at Oinks across the road – actually it’s just as well we only had 4 days, any longer and I’d never fit into my clothes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. It is good to know that the little touches are appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmaddox11
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first time visiting Scotland and we had such a wonderful time! The apartment was beautiful, very clean and had everything we need to make our experience so lovely. We would defiantly come back to Scotland and stay again at Brown Close! The apartment manager was so helpful and really nice. They even had tourist info. and a book they made that help us find everything we needed in the area!

Great experience for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Walking distance to everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had such a good experience in Scotland and that you enjoyed staying in our apartment. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kebrpa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean and perfect for 2 adults and a child.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was in the perfect location with access to the tour buses, sights, markets and great places to eat. We were greeted upon our arrival and the apartment had everything you need for nice stay. There were even snacks and milk in the refrigerator. We would definitely stay here on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
It is good to know that the apartment facilities and location helped you to enjoy your visit to Edinburgh. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place on the Royal Mile”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Browns Close is pure heaven. The flat is roomy, plenty of sunshine, convenient to Old Town Edinburgh, one-quarter mile from Waverley Station, across from a primary school, family games, a plethora of DVDs to choose, and everything and anything you could ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for a lovely review! It is good to know that you enjoyed your visit and found our apartment a good place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing