We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring, very comfy.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Emilie G
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great base for exploring, very comfy.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Really handy for exploring Edinburgh. The apartment is beautiful inside, clean and comfy too, with plenty of home comforts.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for a nice review - we are glad that you liked staying in Browns Close!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeridoicT...
Tofino, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My family and I stayed at Brown's Close Apartment in May for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! The location was perfectly set towards the end of the Royal Mile above the Kilderkin pub. We were a little nervous of its location until we entered the apartment and then all our concerns were put to rest. We had no issues with noise and the apartment was spacious for the 4 of us. It was wonderful to have an in-house washer/dry at our disposal as well as an iron and ironing board. The apartment was stocked with all the necessities (ie. dish detergent, laundry detergent, hand soaps, step stool, manuals to work the appliances, books and guides on the area, selection of music and dvd's, games, puzzles, etc. etc.) We were in want of nothing and would have loved to stay longer as it truly was a home-away-from-home place. This hidden gem is well worth staying at! Thank-you David!! :)

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed for our stay.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us. Quite a few guests comment favourably on how quiet the area is in the evenings and overnight - a definite plus for a city-centre location!

Thank you for taking time to write this review for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dieBritta
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Accommodation! :-)”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (that is 3 persons) stayed in the apartment for 4 nights and had a wonderful time there! Very tidy flat and furnished with passion for detail... The welcome pack was very nice, too. There was even milk in the fridge for the first coffee! The beds were very comfortable and we especially liked the small balcony :-) Nice new TV and loads of information material of Edinburgh, which was very helpful. The location is very good, with the Royal Mile, the Holyrood Palace, the Parliament and Arthur's seat next door! There's a great pub in the house, too (Kilderkin, check the homepage), but don't worry, it's not noisy in the apartment!
We will definitely come back to stay here!
Thank you again, David, for the nice contact!
And say Hello to beautiful Edinburgh from us!
Hope to see you again,
Anke, Moni and Britta

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds, TV, Balcony, welcome pack
Liked least: Nothing to complain about :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the extras and found the location so convenient - and that you liked Edinburgh so much!

I look forward to meeting you again - bis bald!

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan F
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Excellent location at the opposite end of the Royal Mile to Edinburgh Castle. It was therefore quieter - away from the noise of stag/hen parties. It's location on the Royal Mile meant you can walk to all the attractions - just bring your walking shoes. Before booking this apartment I had done a lot of research and I reckon this offers best value for money.
The apartment itself it very comfortable. Bed comfy as is the sofa bed which is easy to make up. Basic toiletries and snacks provided and gorgeous quality fluffy towels supplied! The owner David is flexible with check in.
There is a small balcony which enjoys the early morning sun if you are lucky enough to get it as we were this Easter.
If you 're there try the hog roast from across the road at Oink - delicious!

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for this lovely review. We are pleased that you found Browns Close to be good value for money, and thanks too for the comments on the sofa bed - it's good to know that it is easy to use! - and the eating recommendation. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again if you are back in Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Date of stay: April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.