We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a very lovely place to stay. After a week of going from one hotel to another is was nice to be in apartment. We were thrilled that there was a washer/dryer. The kitchen was stocked with coffee and tea. There was even milk in the fridge.

The location is excellent.

The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.

A helpful hint we walked from the train station and had trouble finding the hotel. So here is what you do. You find the Bakehouse Close that is off the Royal Mile. Walk into that Close. Keep going to the end-- not very far. Then look to your left. There are the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBethMadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Fantastic review and many thanks to this traveller for sharing their most positive experience. All our apartments are welll equiped; with washing machine/dryer, microwave, dishawasher, oven and hob - we are a real home from home!
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    374
    78
    21
    16
See reviews for
374
256
22
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a large group of several different families staying in three of these apartments right beside each other and found this aparthotel a perfect place to explore the city. Very well-equipped, with plenty of space for our family of five and lots of light and space in the living area itself.
Staff were friendly and helpful, although reception tends to very cramped with guests tripping over stored suitcases.
The minuses were: uncomfortable, hard mattresses on the beds and water in the bathroom taps were a mere dribble which is annoying, also some noise from the street during the night, but could be avoided by keeping windows closed.
All in all a good place yo stay if you don't fancy a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayNools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at the Holyrood Aparthotel in 2009, 2010, and 2012, all in May, for the first and last nights of our Scottish walking trips. As there were three of us traveling together (a couple and a single) we needed two bedrooms, and the serviced flat was surely the way to go. We had plenty of room and privacy with two bedrooms and two full baths, and the price was much less than two hotel rooms in Edinburgh. And the location can't be beat: you are minutes from the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street, Holyrood Palace and Park, and the Scottish museums. (Of course, Edinburgh is such a do-able, wonderful city for visitors--you can walk everywhere, and so many of the sights you want to see are clustered around the Royal Mile.)

The Holyrood Aparthotels are located only a 10 minute walk or so from Waverly Station, so if you fly in, you can take the 21 bus directly to Waverly, and then walk to your lodgings.

The only small problem I saw this year is that there is a lot of construction going on in the Close, right next to the hotel. This starts early in the morning. These are going to be apartments for Edinburgh University students, so we will have to see in the future if the student housing increases the noise levels.

That said, we still found the hotel to be a great find, and a great place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianagael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, we are always delighted to welcome back returning guests and hope to see you again in 2013. Unfortunately the nearby construction is outwith our control, however we do not expect it to impact greatly on noise levels as the bottom of the Royal Mile is already a busting area with great local amenities, but our ‘tucked away’ location means the apartHOTEL remains a peaceful haven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I booked this property 10 days before my stay with a "24-hour cancellation prior to arrival" notice, and intentionally did not take the "nonrefundable" option because my plans were not 100% certain. I understood that I would be charged the first night stay in advance, but expected the charge to be refunded upon cancellation. I cancelled within 2 days of booking the reservation - fully 8 days prior to arrival, expecting the deposit to be refunded. Since that did not happen, I reviewed the fine print and now see that 25% of the total booking fee is non-refundable upon cancellation. I am so very glad I did not stay at this property with crooked and misleading policies in the fine print. This is not at all in keeping with industry standard, and was a total cheat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. It had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room/kitchen. It had plenty of space for us to spread out. The aparthotel was kind of challenging to find initially and then it didn't have enough parking for us at the time, so they sent us up the street to park in a public garage. The parking thing worked out o.k., but was very expensive. The aparthotel was very clean and well maintained. The washer/dryer combo. was really nice to have.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holyrood apartHOTEL, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I believe the apartHOTEL is a great alternative for families traveling to the city. We recently received a 2012 Travellers Choice award from TripAdvisor ranking up in the top ten of UK hotels for families which is an incredible endorsement of our facilities and our team.

Our car park can be, on rare occasion and during busy periods, limited for space; but I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff were able to assist with arrangements for you to park nearby.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back on your next visit to Edinburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#59 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holyrood apartHOTEL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holyrood apartHOTEL

Property: Holyrood apartHOTEL
Address: 1 Nether Bakehouse | Holyrood, Edinburgh EH8 8PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,677 - ₹ 18,540
Hotel Class:4 star — Holyrood apartHOTEL 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holyrood Aparthotel offers you best hotel accommodation in Edinburgh. Choose one of our exclusive self catering apartments and enjoy the privacy & services of a hotel room but with with the freedom and space more like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holyrood apartHOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyrood ApartHOTEL Edinburgh, Scotland
Holyrood Aparthotel Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing