We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!”
Review of Kew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kew House
Ranked #7 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is our first review on Trip Advisor as I was always skeptical of these reviews in general. What one person likes another does not while at the same time the B&B is just perfect. But a stay at the Kew House may start to change our views. I have read the last 20 or so reviews for the Kew House and agree 250%. Great place, clean comfortable rooms, great hosts in Ian and Allan. If they give you a restaurant suggestion, take it! Our only wish was for it to stop raining!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 510 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

This lovely B&B is the perfect spot to explore Edinburgh. Quiet, clean, and comfortable with a wonderful breakfast and very accomodating hosts. They were even kind enough to allow us to park there on our last day so that we could explore.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sreisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

could have happily stayed in bed all day! I'm sure if I'd wanted to then it would have been no problem. I was made to feel very welcome as were the other guests and we all engaged in conversation, so a very sociable guest house - which is unusual.

Just a short bus rige from the city or a 10 minute walk to Haymarket, the airport bus stops virtually outside so very easy for flying visitors to the city.

Nothing was too much trouble, I would highly recommend Kew House......but leave room for me!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canneloniwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at Kew House for three nights whilst taking part in the Edinburgh Marathon/10k races. As soon as we booked, we received an email asking if we had any special requirements, which was fantastic as we are both vegetarian and it also gave us the opportunity to let John and Ian know what our plans were.

On arrival Ian spent a good half an hour explaining all of the transport requirements for our stay, paying particular attention to our specific needs given the roadworks/diversions at the time.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable, and even though we had the downstairs room nearest the main road, there was never any traffic noise to note - the double glazing did its job. The bed was one of the comfiest we have ever experienced, on a par with a 5 star hotel! Breakfast was spot on, and the timings were flexible to meet our needs.

All in all, we couldn't speak highly enough of Kew House, and would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearcesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here with my mother for a few days and we could not be happier with the accommodation, the knowledge and friendliness of the hosts (Ian and John). Everything was very well explained upon arrival. Pubs, restaurants, etc recommended have all been very good. John took the best part of an hour ensuring that we received the best information about the House and Edinburgh. The toiletries and all the fittings, furnishing etc are of the highest standard. The rooms were throughly cleaned with nice touches everywhere. Breakfasts were of superior quality.
I managed to make a mistake with the booking date which John took in his stride and reorganised to booking without fuss! My mother, who is very fussy, says this is easily to best of the Lodges we have stayed in this trip, and I would have to agree. Well done To all concerned.

Room Tip: There is a twin room on the ground floor which has easy access for the elderly who have trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,049 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kew House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kew House

Address: 1 Kew Terrace | Murrayfield, Edinburgh EH12 5JE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 9,667 - ₹ 15,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kew House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kew House has been awarded the prestigious AA 5 Star Gold rating as well as being one of few guest houses in both the Michelin UK and Europe Guide. We are just 15 minutes walk West of Princes Street and have easy bus access to Edinburgh Airport. Our 6 bedrooms and 1 serviced apartment are stylish and contemporary with everything all guests need whether on business or leisure travel. Toiletries by the White Company. Kew House has free secure parking and free hi-speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kew House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing