We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #150 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Terrible stay! Worst hotel ever! Very dirty, furniture broken... Couldn't be any worse!
We will never stay in Travelodge again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anapeula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,331 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Its a clean, smart, friendly hotel, excellent for a few days stay if u r visiting edinburgh.
I am employed with Marriott Int. n' being from a hotel management background myself, i was very happy to see they have their basics right. front office staff r well informed of the bus/taxi info and location details. waiter at the restaurant/bar is pretty ok..nice chap..food production team, good job. the makhani was served at the right temperature, naans were soft n everything, quick service, well done.. housekeeping did a good job changing towels n refilling amenities (i so need my tea everyday morning n was delighted to see they had refilled milk n tea sachets) room is nice, i liked the bed, the innovation of the hanger design, the mirrors, the bathroom.. i mean, honestly, its a bang on value for money hotel. (£36 per night)..

Im extremely happy with the hotel, but jus a few things that did strike me as a tinee winee bit negative..
umm, i wish it was a lil closer to the city centre, but hey, it's still ok.. n' i know travelodge is all no toiletries, but c'mon guys at least keep a toilet roll in the bathroom..

To all the travel lodge staff, smile a lil bit more, cuz that'd make a BIG difference to the guest experience.. but u guys r doing reeli good :)

Lovely stay, look forward to visit u soon :)

Room Tip: well mine was on the 4th floor facing the main road outside, t'was pretty cool n i guess u guys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had originally booked into the brand new Travelodge in Edinburgh but was informed not long before that the hotel would not be finished in time. The only available rooms were in the Travelodge West End as I needed 2 family rooms so agreed to the change without firstly looking on Tripadvisor!!
Firstly not greeted with the warmest of welcome on reception and when we inspected the rooms we found that they were very tired and dated. The sofabed had several suspect stains on it and hairs and mould around bath.
I know that Travelodge is designed to provide cheap and affordable accomodation but this should not mean that cleanliness and hygiene should suffer.
I would not recomend this to families but if your on a stag/hen party and are planning to be drunk most of the time this should be a fine choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Donna F,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very basic, bathroom was crampted and mould along the tiles, there was a random small hole in the wall and the shower was very loud, we was able to hear the neighbours shower at 5.30am!! Also the toilet system was shocking and flushing it was an experience.

The bedroom itself was again basic, with tea making facilities, however the heater smelt like it was burning so we couldn't use it, and there was no wardrobe to hang clothes.

I will not be returning to this particular travelodge, however in the past I have had a much better experience with travelodges.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becki1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights with Uni freinds as we were attending a conference. Stayed in a twin room. Room was fine, plenty of space, tea/coffee making facilities, nice bathroom. We spent very little time in the hotel so it served its purpose. Felt I got my money's worth for £38 for a twin room for two nights. Not much else to say, busses are regular into the centre however on the way back we seemed to get lost and had to jump in taxis!
To be honest a travel lodge is a travel lodge ... doesn't matter where you are!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmo230885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
684 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
937 reviews
Old Town
Courtyard Edinburgh West
Courtyard Edinburgh West
#136 of 151 in Edinburgh
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 1,935 - ₹ 11,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing