We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
413
414
218
87
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
414
218
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift top floor york place velux window double shower huge room superior room lovely hotel tram line boutique hotel princes street central location full scottish breakfast main attractions tea coffee stayed here for one night short break
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

we stayed here one night while attending the playhouse, location was fantastic short walk from waverley station and the playhouse, close to lots of bars and restaurants. Staff at the hotel were great, very friendly and helpful they even made our evening meal reservations at the local mexican for us, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotlessly clean power shower was fantastic large screen tv, had everything we needed , wasn't huge but we were there to sleep not dancewould definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sandra,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The room was extremely small and no closet space. The location was fantastic and service was amazing. The entire staff was helpful and accommodating. Walking distance to all city attractions. I strongly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oceanshopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear oceanshopper1,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to have you stay again soon.

Kind Regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Good location walking distance to the city centre, Compact very clean double room ideal as we only stayed one night.Staff very friendly and helpful, We paid to have breakfast on the Saturday morning, NO BACON!!! never had a full Scottish breakfast without bacon, shame as the rest of the breakfast was good. We come to Edinburgh regularly this was not the best hotel we have stayed in. When the fringe is on the hotel prices are higher and you expect a little more for your money.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank jmccorgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear jmccorgray,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our city double rooms. It is pleasing to hear that you found the room to be very clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. You will be glad to hear we will be including bacon in our breakfast menu in the near future. We would love to have you stay with us the next time you are visiting Edinburgh!

Kind Regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Well located within the centre of Edinburgh which is why we chose it. Unfortunately there is no parking facilities anywhere near but as we took the train to Edinburgh it wasn't an issue. Our room was amazing. It was enormous and the bathroom was bigger than the average persons lounge. The bed was huge and really comfy. The room had a murder/detective theme which was an unusual but nice touch.
We had a nice welcome the day we arrived and the receptionist was pleasant the day we departed too, allowing us to keep our luggage there for a few hours.
Negatives- the food. Breakfast was mediocre. On both mornings we had to stand wait for a table as it was really busy. Not enough tables for the number of rooms. All the staff ignored us whilst we stood uncomfortably waiting at the side of the dining room getting in everyone's way. It wouldn't have been too much trouble for someone to have said, "good morning! Sorry we don't have a table available at the moment but as soon as one becomes free we will have you seated." They all totally ignored us.
We had to get our own tea on the second day as no one asked if wanted a hot drink. The food was luke warm as the lids of the food warmers were always left up. No one informed us that there was a separate menu or that you could make requests (I've just found this out from reading other reviews). This would have been helpful with being vegetarian and ending up with just toast, tomato and beans. The mushrooms were tried on the first day but I think the chef dropped the container of oregano on them. It would have been nice to have veggie sausage, hash browns, poached egg, hot baked beans, etc. We asked at reception for an evening menu and was told they didn't have one but we may be able to get one at the bar. The bar was too busy so we never bothered. We ate elsewhere.
I've rated it as a 3 due to our breakfast experience on the two mornings. Room wise it's a 5 but the food and service lets the hotel down. If we ever returned, in future I would not pay for breakfast and get a good full English at a local cafe instead.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tanyaa825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

The location was convenient--The tram to the airport stopped right in front and it was an easy walk to all the major attractions for people who are walkers. Our twin room involved a long walk and some up and down stairs....and there was construction going on in a neighboring room that was annoying but fortunately stopped during main sleeping hours. Breakfast was very good.....not only was there a hot buffet breakfast but a separate menu for orders...takes a bit of extra time, but worth the wait. Disappointed that the bar in the hotel was completely empty all 4 nights we were there.....and only saw one couple eating dinner at the restaurant.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank anniehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Front Office Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear anniehiker,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm pleased you were able to take advantage of our central location right next the York Place tram stop. I will be sure to pass on your kind words regarding breakfast to our food&beverage team. Thanks again leaving this review, we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews