We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent,But”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #19 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked in for one night stay,for Saturday 21st April,arrived in Edinburgh just before noon,
A quick phone call,and was allowed to check in early,(saved lumping luggage through town)
Lovely Hotel,spotless,spacious,comfortable room,
Coffee machine,and nibbles readily available adjacent to very impressive library,
Called down to reception to ask for use of iron & ironing board,delivered within minutes,

All very well,until breakfast on Sunday Morning,
We arrived in dining room just before 09.30,were not even asked about coffee or tea,or food order taken until10.00,drinks arrived a few minutes later,with food arriving 10 mins later,
Three couples who arrived in dining room after we did,were attended to,and one of those couples had actually eaten and departed prior to being served,
The service on Sunday put a dampner on an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stunning view from room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank generalg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

I regret that this guest was missed on Sunday morning. We take feedback such as this very seriously and I've already spoken to the staff members involved. Over the last week we've been reorganizing the staff available in the dining room to ensure that this issue doesn't arise again in the future.

I'm glad that these guests enjoyed the rest of their stay and we hope to see them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 503 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel surpassed all expectations! It was just gorgeous. Read all about its history on its web site - I did after I had stayed there as I love knowing the history of these big houses before they became hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annmarie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is absolutely stuning and so spacious. There is a library and a bar room you can sit in in the evening, both room are big and full of character (as is the whole hotel), games to play & free coffee machine. Staff are perfect, very helpful, always there but just in the background, so not intrusive at all. Bedrooms and bathrooms were really nice, clean and have everything you could need. Beds were really comfy, shower was nice and powerful. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had at a hotel, they have everything you could want. The hotel is within walking distance of Haymarket station and is a great location for spending time in Edinburgh. I will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: room at the front get the sun in the morning so are nice and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Beautiful building with lovely interior of mixed character and modern touches. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Our room and en-suite was clean and well presented with comfy beds, all the requirements for a one night stay. The library and bar areas were comfortable and relaxing to chill out in. Breakfast was well enjoyed, certainly no complaints from us and was again in a beautiful room with the sunshine beaming through the large windows. Would definitely stay here again - a short walk from Haymarket Station (stayed here with my sister, sister in law and mum sharing two rooms) - we all said that we would stay here again x roll on another theatre trip I think!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Used the Groupon deal but even without that we will be back. We had room 3 which was spacious and clean, very comfy bed and staff charming and helpful.
Good breakfast and a stunning library.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,888 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 6,254 - ₹ 21,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing