We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #16 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Will be back”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Used the Groupon deal but even without that we will be back. We had room 3 which was spacious and clean, very comfy bed and staff charming and helpful.
Good breakfast and a stunning library.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    193
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
139
336
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very clean hotel, friendly but not chatty staff, fab shower. The beds were super so I had a great nights sleep and it is so quiet - no noise at all from outside or other occupants in the hotel. It wasn't till breakfast that I realised that the hotel was actually pretty busy! Negative points - being very picky here - bathroom door takes some shutting and corridors outside of the 'impressive' part are rather drab. Personally I felt it was a bit overpriced but I am not an expert on Edinburgh hotels.

Room Tip: I think you have a good view from anyroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here on the Easter weekend for a night out with friends. Used the groupon deal.
Nice little B&B, great location with a short 5min walk to Princes St. Stayed in room 7 - pretty small but all we needed was a place to sleep. Bonus of view of the castle from the room!
Lovely lounge and breakfast room. Cooked breakfast was ok, not the best I've ever had but service was great and nice continental spread too.
Staff are friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very well placed hotel in New Town. From out bedroom window we could see the castle while from breakfast room we overlooked Dean Village.
Our room wasn't overly large but was very well appointed. With comfy chair and table. Ensuite very nice indeed. This bills itself as a boutique b&b and only does breakfast but it has really nice bar and residents lounge with coffee and biscuits. With four floors it's a bit big for a b&b more like a traditional private hotel.
Breakfast outstanding. We only stayed one night as we were at a wedding but we're going back again to Edinburgh and staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Shared a room with my mother and sister. 2 single beds and a double sofa bed, which I grabbed first as it looked SO comfortable and it was! Everything was very clean, especially the bathroom which also had more than adequate towels/handtowels/facecloths etc Large walk-shower too. Basically, the room itself was very comfortable.

The breakfasting room is just beautiful, with wood panelling and a beautiful fireplace. A lovely light room to sit in to have breakfast. There was a large table heaving with cereal, fruit, pastries, fresh bread, bottles of water, squeezed juice etc and then brought to the table fresh tea/coffee and toast. A full Scottish breakfast could be ordered from a menu with the usual, eggs, bacon, sausage, haggis, blackpudding etc. VERY nice indeed and a great way to start the day.

The premises themselves were pretty spotless and the staff we met were friendly.

Would def recommend and would also stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for a good view and we were not disappointed. View over Edinburgh and of a wee burn below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,486 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,603 - ₹ 43,618
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing