We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very friendly little place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly little place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here on the Easter weekend for a night out with friends. Used the groupon deal.
Nice little B&B, great location with a short 5min walk to Princes St. Stayed in room 7 - pretty small but all we needed was a place to sleep. Bonus of view of the castle from the room!
Lovely lounge and breakfast room. Cooked breakfast was ok, not the best I've ever had but service was great and nice continental spread too.
Staff are friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    182
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
326
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very well placed hotel in New Town. From out bedroom window we could see the castle while from breakfast room we overlooked Dean Village.
Our room wasn't overly large but was very well appointed. With comfy chair and table. Ensuite very nice indeed. This bills itself as a boutique b&b and only does breakfast but it has really nice bar and residents lounge with coffee and biscuits. With four floors it's a bit big for a b&b more like a traditional private hotel.
Breakfast outstanding. We only stayed one night as we were at a wedding but we're going back again to Edinburgh and staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Shared a room with my mother and sister. 2 single beds and a double sofa bed, which I grabbed first as it looked SO comfortable and it was! Everything was very clean, especially the bathroom which also had more than adequate towels/handtowels/facecloths etc Large walk-shower too. Basically, the room itself was very comfortable.

The breakfasting room is just beautiful, with wood panelling and a beautiful fireplace. A lovely light room to sit in to have breakfast. There was a large table heaving with cereal, fruit, pastries, fresh bread, bottles of water, squeezed juice etc and then brought to the table fresh tea/coffee and toast. A full Scottish breakfast could be ordered from a menu with the usual, eggs, bacon, sausage, haggis, blackpudding etc. VERY nice indeed and a great way to start the day.

The premises themselves were pretty spotless and the staff we met were friendly.

Would def recommend and would also stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for a good view and we were not disappointed. View over Edinburgh and of a wee burn below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As far as a B+B establishment goes this is definitely in the upper echelons. Lovely property in a desirable part of town.
We visited Edinburgh for a weekend break and booked in for the Saturday night. Our room wasn't available on arrival at 1pm so we had to go away and return after 2pm. On our return we were allocated room 22 on the fourth floor, reached by the elevator. So far, so good.
After struggling with the lock on the bedroom door, these need to be sorted as we heard our neighbour having the same problem at 1.30am, we entered our supposed double room. I've travelled around the world extensively and I can genuinely say that this is the smallest 'double' room I have ever stayed in. There is absolutely no room for two people to move around. The en-suite bathroom is tiny by any standard. The only saving grace is the view which is terrific. Because we were running late, byhaving to return to the hotel to check in, we decided not to request another room as were short of time already.
We returned to the hotel to shower and change around 6pm only to find there was no hot water available. On calling reception we were told, "the boiler had been switched off inadvertantly". So, two cold showers later, we were on our way.
Comfortable bed, decent breakfast, the staff only doing as much as they needed to to keep their jobs.
Looks great from the outside, could do better on the inside.

Room Tip: Great view from upper floor but beware room 22 if travelling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cultergolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I purchased a Groupon voucher for this hotel, and I was amazed at the quality and care we received throughout our stay.

Due to some problems we had to reschedule our original booking from the Tuesday night to the Friday, but the staff were ever so polite and helpful over the phone, and even offered us an upgraded superior room.

We arrived at 6pm, where the receptionist was pleasant and gave us some information about our hotel. We had room 14 on the 4th floor, and got the lift to it (the lift is very cosy - fits two maximum!)

Our room was clean, spacious and had an amazing view. Free toiletries were available in the bathroom, and the bed was honestly one of the comfiest beds I have ever laid my head on!

Had a fantastic hot breakfast this morning, served quickly and with a smile. It was all cooked and portioned perfectly, and we also got a fresh coffee press to our table too!

Our train home was not until late in the afternoon, and even though we had checked out, we were welcome to keep our bags in their secure reception area with no fuss and no charge.

On returning to get our bags, the receptionist was lovely and we ended up chatting for a good ten minutes about our stay!

My boyfriend and I have agreed that we would stay here again in a heart beat - it is so close to the city centre and Haymarket station, yet in a quiet and relaxed neighbourhood.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, and if you have the change I urge you to stay here - I certainly will be again as soon as I can!

I would like to thank the staff for making my trip to Edinburgh and my special anniversary with my partner so fantastic - your service is second to none and you are all a credit to the Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,103 - ₹ 29,560
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing