We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment, lovely, peaceful and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 51/11 James Square

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen
Lounge
Hallway
Master Bedroom
Master en-suite
Master en-suite
Bedroom 2 (as king size option)
Bedroom 2 (as singles option)
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bathroom
BBQ Area
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elgin_Dom
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed in no.11 and had a pleasant stay. Was rugby weekend but wasn't disturbed by noise the whole time. Apartment very pleasant all the amenities necessary. Pool was very handy with two youngsters but very cold and having a people drinking in the pool area is not that great a view. The next morning there were towels in the pool, empty beer bottles in and around the pool so altogether not the best advertisement, but still handy to have a pool. Secure parking handy as well. Well placed for Murryfield and good links to the centre.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MommaNeed...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serious plumbing faults occurred and owner refused any refund”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have read other reviews of this property and rented it for two nights at the beginning of February for £550 for 8 of us for 2 nights on the basis that it seemed people have had good experiences before, and it seemed comparable to costs of other properties in similar location and looked like a decent size.

Unfortunately we did not have a good stay, and yet the owner seems to think this is acceptable. There is a tank in the cupboard of the hallway of this apartment which makes a very loud noise like a washing machine on spin cycle every time that taps are run in the bathroom or the toilet is flushed. I was told by the house keeper that this always happens. The first night we were there, the toilet in the en suite would not stop running water through the cistern, the water kept flowing directly into the bowl and not filling up. This had the horrible impact that the tank noise went on all night! This disturbed all the guests, and in particular those that had the bedroom right next to the tank. I called the house keeper in the morning and the owner as originally I could not get through to the house keeper - the owner assured me she would arrange a plumber that day, however the house keeper said she doubted she could get one there on a Saturday.

No plumber came, and while the toilet seemed to right itself during the day as we didn't use it while we went out, the same problem occurred that evening. I have no idea about plumbing but can only assume that with 8 people using toilets and having washes before bed that this made the problems come on at night time. The second night the cistern finally filled after a few hours so the tank noise only lasted 2 hours, but at 1am this was not welcome!

The owner has refused any refund. I have exchanged a number of emails with her however she said she thinks the rental price charged is good value for money and that their guests need to be 'reasonable'. I assume the owner will comment on this review, and can only say that the scenario outlined is completely accurate and I have no incentive to exaggerate or write this review other than to let others know that I do not believe the owner of this property is very honorable and will not give you a refund if you have problems such as we had which spoiled our break and meant that 8 people suffered two nights of very bad sleep.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
In our original correspondence, you mentioned the toilet was not working to which we said the other toilet was fully functional. The toilet was working, it just was taking slightly longer to fill up. We did not feel this justified a full refund for 2 nights stay and 8 people. We did get a plumber to fix the minor fault in the small pump within 24 hours, which was as soon as we could. You said in our correspondence if you did not receive a full refund you would leave a nasty review on here, so this is no surprise. We are sorry this fault occurred during your stay with us, however, it is not an on going fault as you seem to suggest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, lovely, peaceful and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Booked this apartment for a family break, it was a truly brilliant choice! The owner was a pleasure to deal with prior to our stay and answered all of our questions promptly. The apartment itself was beautifully furnished and it was clear from arrival a lot of thought and consideration had been put it in to make sure our stay was pleasant and enjoyable. It was very clean with lots of towels and other items provided for our convenience. The apartment was also surprising much larger than it appeared to be from the photographs online! The addition of the leisure facilities was an added bonus and extremely welcoming if you just want to relax. It was comforting to know our car was parked behind closed shutters in a capital city too. A fully stocked supermarket is literally across the road which was handy with everyone wanting different things to eat as well as local restaurants close by. The actual city hub, Princes Street, is a short drive away or ten minutes walk, brilliant for sightseeing and shopping! All in all it definitely ticked all my boxes and would stay here again! *****

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin K
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large comfortable apartment with added bonus of swimming pool and great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great apartments comfortable enough to cater for 4 adults, 3 children and 2 infants. Had everything we needed and the kids loved the pool. Didn't use the roof top terrace due to weather but imagine would have been nice if weather had been better. Free secure parking for car was perfect and due to location we parked car on arrival and didn't use again until leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smaclaren
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation, great location!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My friends and I stayed here for three nights for a hen party and it turned out to be just the best choice. The decor and standard of cleanliness was incredibly high and everything you could want was in the apartment on arrival. From booking to collecting the keys, everything was smooth and easy and the owners couldn't do enough to help us settle in - we even got a girly hamper of wine and treats! Fantastic location with easy access to anywhere in the town as its about fifteen minutes walk from everywhere. We didn't use the pool but it looked great. Would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing