We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Group of 12 stayed here for highland show, tidy basic accomadation , staff friendly and we had no issues at all. Would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Edinbourgh who wants too stay in city centre location but does not want to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Mr Orr,
Thank you for your positive and honest feedback. It was a pleasure having you and your friends and we look forward to your return next year.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    103
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
18
224
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and totally agree that its sole purpose is to grab away as much money as they can from the poor travellers unluckily fall into their hands. I know it is cheap, but it doesn't mean I can be treated rudely. The staffs were obviously displeased whenever asked for service. Everything required extra fee. I felt cheated when being told that wifi was not free (they wrote free wifi in their brochure). A lot of food stuffs provided in the kitchen were expired and they did not bother to buy replacement. Terrible experience

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Toru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Toru,
We are sorry to hear of your terrible experience and can only apologise to you that you did not enjoy your time with us. We try exceptionally hard to give a high level of customer service and do all that it takes to ensure our guests enjoy their stay in Edinburgh. On this occasion we must have failed! I would there for like to invite you back for a free stay in the hope you will be able to give us a second chance so we can achieve our goal.
With regards to Wifi we do not advertise free Wifi unless you are a student but offer the use offree high speed internet access on our guest computers instead . Wifi is charged at £3.00 for 24 hours.
Your experience saddens us and we hope you can accept our most sincere apologies.
Kindest Regards,
Hamish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed at the Haggis Hostel for a quick stop over night on my way up north. As mentioned previously in another review, the hostel is easy to miss and first impressions when walking up the stairs are not hugely reassuring yet when you arrive, it is obvious that it has recently been refurbished and the staff have great pride in the service they provide.

The showers are brand new, powerful and hot, the toilets clean, the kitchen offers everything you need (breakfast sounded great but I left too early to catch a train to even think about eating) and there is a room to relax in. The beds were perfect after a days travelling and the bedding of high quality. The internet terminals proved useful too.

Location wise it was a minute from the station and 5 minutes to all the main attractions so perfect.

The only thing that would improve it would be some comfy sofas but then you don't go to Edinburgh for a night in!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Solo female traveller on a three night stay - I am really pleased with staying in this hostel.
I was actually very pleasantly surprised with how clean this place is. I have been to a quite few places - from hostels to boutique hotels - and I always appreciate it when premises are kept clean, The staff, from the nice chaps at the reception to the lovely girl cleaning up are all very friendly and helpful! I even managed to do some urgent writing in the common room - it was not noisy at all. At the same time it is kinda fun, there is also a guitar going around for those who can play. The room, although a bit small had sockets for every bed, which is the first thing I look for when I stay at a hostel.And now comes the best part, the showers.... they are excellent not just for hostel standards but also for hotel standards (esp in the UK).
And last but not least, the location is perfect! I mean, it is almost opposite the train station, in an alley with some nice pubs tucked here and there, practically a stone throw away from the royal mile and there is even a sainsbury's two streets down to buy food, drinks, etc if you want to keep your budget low.
Things I was not happy with, are :
1. Lack of places to store your stuff in the room. There are lockers but I 'd wish they were bigger
2. There is some heavy construction work taking place just opposite the building so I had to wake up a bit earlier than planned.

Of course if you take into account that constructions are temporarily and lack of space is expected in a building right at the heart of the city, then it is really up to you.

Personally, I 'd definately stay there again, next time I visit Edinburgh :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hostel in May and wished we had just booked into a hotel. The owner was very arrogant and rude, and took our deposit at the end of our stay as he said we brought beer into our room!? What a load of rubbish! We didn't even open the bottle!

The toilets are dirty, and there is bad smell coming from the showers when you turn it on. The cleanliness of the rooms are quite awful - the beds have stains on and are quite damp.

Stay away from this hostel and it's money grabbing manager.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete5464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
You arrived after spending over 6 hours drinking on a bus. Your entire group were extremely drunk, noisy and abusive. At that point in time we should have refused you admittance but against our better judgement we allowed you entry to the hostel.
All that we asked was that you showed some respect to us and the other guests. Instead you continued to run through the reception area completely naked(Without towels). We found this disrespectful to the people sitting on the computer at the time.
We did not keep your deposit as you have stated we kept 20% of your deposit to pay for damages and cleaning costs. Returning the rest in cash to the best man on departure who was most apologetic for you and your friends behaviour.
The fact of the matter is that you and your friends were so drunk whilst you were in Edinburgh you probably can’t remember half of the things you got up to.
Unfortunately we can!!!
We invite anyone to come and inspect the cleanliness of our hostel in its entirety. We take great pride in the high level of cleanliness maintained throughout the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,776 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 205 in Edinburgh
1,457 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#17 of 205 in Edinburgh
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 205 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,765 - ₹ 20,090
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, EaseMyTrip and HostelWorld so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing