We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Caparica, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easily the best hostel I have ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Don't let the building entrance fool you, this isn't your typical cheap and dirty hostel. The building entrance and the stairs look nasty but as soon as you enter the door to the Haggis Hostel, you're in a totally different place.

The hostel, located at the center of Edinburgh and 5 minutes walk from the Waverley station, has just been redone a few months ago (reopened in August), with everything from floors to ceilings being new, very nice and friendly staff, and some little things that make a big difference!

For instance, breakfast is included in the price!

There's a very nice and brand new kitchen you can use at any time, with fruit, bread, cereals, tea and coffee for free.

You have free wi-fi that actually works - and is secured with WPA2!

The next day we wanted to visit the National Museum of Scotland but we didn't want to carry our bags around the city, so we left them there for £2 each - for me, given the weight of our bags, this was worth gold!

And last but not least, the reason (I suppose) for the hostel name: they have the best haggis I have ever tasted! For £5 you get a big plate of haggis, neeps and tatties, with an amazing whiskey gravy, and if you want, they also have the vegetarian version. Chris, one of the owners, is a master chef, and his recipe as won an award, so make sure you have a taste of it. It was so good that before we left, we got two more portions of it to eat on the bus!

I'll definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who visits Edinburgh. You can tell that it is being ran by people who care and really want to make a difference in the service you get. I hope that when their business grows, they don't lose this passion that makes the Haggis Hostel so great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    97
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
9
17
203
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I can honestly say that this is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. It's extremely clean, the rooms are warm and my bed was comfortable. The free breakfast (not something I've experienced a lot in hostels) is great, and there's a clean modern kitchen if you fancy cooking for yourself. Also the showers are fantastic, it's great to get clean electric showers in a hostel. The location is central - literally a 30 second walk from Princes Street. The staff are all really lovely and helpful, and I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh. I'd recommend the haggis too if it's available!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed at Haggis Hostels for a few nights. Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Facilities are great- bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom facilities are all modern and extremely fresh and clean. Oh and complimentary breakfast was a bonus! Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

It was definitely a great value and great location for the money, however the beds are the most uncomfortable things I've ever slept on. I had to sleep on the duvet and put a coat over me in order to fall asleep. The staff keep the place VERY clean and the breakfast (while confined to pastries and toast) was much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Loved it great place really clean and nice:) And the staff is really friendly go here you will miss out if you don't

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mika benjamin m M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,391 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
Motel One Edinburgh-Princes
#37 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5 / 3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,967 - ₹ 23,949
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing