We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Complete charm in the heart of Edinburgh's Old...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemaker Row

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
sitting room
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
Candlemaker Row and Edinburgh Castle
Bedroom
Greyfriars kirkyard
Living Room
Greyfriars Kirkyard
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Stairs
Stairs
Entrance
The Building
Street
The Building
The Building
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alice C
Armidale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Complete charm in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this charming apartment which is centrally located just off the Royal Mile and close to the Greyfriars Kirkyard, for a week at the end of August, in the last days of the Festival and the closing ceremony of the Tattoo. This apartment is in a fabulous position within easy walking distance of Edinburgh Castle, the National Museum of Scotland, the National Library and St Giles Church and a comprehensive range of both expensive and cheap restaurants, pubs, cafes and takeaways. The apartment is on the first floor with a kitchen window overlooking the Greyfriars graveyard in which the dog, known as Greyfriars Bobby is said to have spent 14 years overseeing the grave of his master, John Gray. The graveyard itself is set in beautiful gardens which were a great attraction for us and for many others who enjoyed the peace and quiet (and fascinating gravestones) in the middle of such a bustling city. The apartment itself is charming and beautifully furnished with comfortable living room chairs, dining room table, double sofa bed and a king size bed! There is plenty of hanging space, the kitchen is well equipped with high quality dishwasher, washing machine and kitchen appliances and the bathroom is excellent. We particularly liked all the pictures and prints which depicted various aspects of Candlemakers Row and its history. A wealth of information, novels and books relating to the history of Edinburgh and Scotland were also provided and were extremely interesting and useful. The owners gave us a warm welcome and we were impressed by their commitment to recycling and to the maintenance of a green environment. Everything was absolutely perfect and we hope we can return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, the facilities, furnishings and the whole apartment, which was perfect.
Liked least: There was nothing at all that I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare H
Moycullen, Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I want to move in!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a terrific apartment, very centrally located, incredibly well maintained and equipped and just simply beautiful. We stayed for three nights and, try and we might, could not find fault. The owner was warm and friendly and gave us a thorough introduction to the apartment. Everything we could possibly have wanted was supplied. It was warm and cosy with lovely furniture and decor. The fresh flowers were a much apprecited gesture. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like being at home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andyjayj8...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, central, quaint, historic”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very cosy apartment with a brilliant welcome, a more than fully stocked kitchen with all the utilities you could ask for!

We will return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stealthdi...
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We've Already booked our next stay here!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

When you walk into this apartment or flat you feel like you are home. This is how well this couple has maintained and laid out this place out.
My wife and I stayed in Edinburgh over Christmas for 12 nights as our daughters both study at the university there and couldn't come home for Christmas due to final year exams.
Every conceivable item you have at home was found in the kitchen. Even the items you don't have were there. Brandy, wine, whisky glasses were there to name a few. We found a cupboard on the last day with cookbooks and staples in it!
Books on the area and Scotland a plenty were found on the book shelf. There was many video DVDS and CDs available to watch and listen to. We cooked a beautiful turkey roast in the full size oven on Christmas day. Julie even recommended a local butcher that was an event in itself to visit and meet the folks there.
I had forgotten a voltage convertor and when I looked in the closet there was one there!
Beautiful antique furniture surrounds the unit. Pictures galore on the walls. What a pleasant place to stay. When our daughters were there it was like having then at home. It felt that good.
If the flat is available for your time vacation period book it. Don't wait or I'm sure it will be gone the next time you look.
Oh one last thing the couple met us at the flat and went over every aspect making sure we knew how everything worked and operated. There was even fresh milk for the tea service they left on the counter.
We've already booked our next stay for our daughters graduation in July.

Thanks very much Mr. and Mrs Watt for making our stay in Edinburgh so perfect and enjoyable.

Don and Maria Gold

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack c
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Candlemaker Row for 4 nights in November 2014 and enjoyed our stay very much. Julie and her husband met us at the flat when we arrived to show us around and gave us a quick overview of the property. It is a lovely flat, with a very well equipped kitchen and a cosy living room and bedroom. Location-wise, the flat is very central. Only 1 minute from the National Museum of Scotland and under 5 minutes from the Royal Mile, so there is no problem there. There are lots of nice to places to eat and drink near by, many are reviewed in the property's guestbook. All in al!l - 5*s

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy flat!
Liked least: Shower power was weak (only fault!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing