We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We've Already booked our next stay here!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candlemaker Row

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
sitting room
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
The Building
Living Room
Candlemaker Row and Edinburgh Castle
Bedroom
Greyfriars kirkyard
Living Room
Greyfriars Kirkyard
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Hallways
Stairs
Stairs
Entrance
The Building
Street
The Building
The Building
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stealthdi...
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We've Already booked our next stay here!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

When you walk into this apartment or flat you feel like you are home. This is how well this couple has maintained and laid out this place out.
My wife and I stayed in Edinburgh over Christmas for 12 nights as our daughters both study at the university there and couldn't come home for Christmas due to final year exams.
Every conceivable item you have at home was found in the kitchen. Even the items you don't have were there. Brandy, wine, whisky glasses were there to name a few. We found a cupboard on the last day with cookbooks and staples in it!
Books on the area and Scotland a plenty were found on the book shelf. There was many video DVDS and CDs available to watch and listen to. We cooked a beautiful turkey roast in the full size oven on Christmas day. Julie even recommended a local butcher that was an event in itself to visit and meet the folks there.
I had forgotten a voltage convertor and when I looked in the closet there was one there!
Beautiful antique furniture surrounds the unit. Pictures galore on the walls. What a pleasant place to stay. When our daughters were there it was like having then at home. It felt that good.
If the flat is available for your time vacation period book it. Don't wait or I'm sure it will be gone the next time you look.
Oh one last thing the couple met us at the flat and went over every aspect making sure we knew how everything worked and operated. There was even fresh milk for the tea service they left on the counter.
We've already booked our next stay for our daughters graduation in July.

Thanks very much Mr. and Mrs Watt for making our stay in Edinburgh so perfect and enjoyable.

Don and Maria Gold

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jack c
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Candlemaker Row for 4 nights in November 2014 and enjoyed our stay very much. Julie and her husband met us at the flat when we arrived to show us around and gave us a quick overview of the property. It is a lovely flat, with a very well equipped kitchen and a cosy living room and bedroom. Location-wise, the flat is very central. Only 1 minute from the National Museum of Scotland and under 5 minutes from the Royal Mile, so there is no problem there. There are lots of nice to places to eat and drink near by, many are reviewed in the property's guestbook. All in al!l - 5*s

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy flat!
Liked least: Shower power was weak (only fault!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed elsewhere in Scotland and this is my new favorite place! Centrally located, extremely friendly and courteous service, clean, fully stocked kitchen, could not have been better! Thank you very much Julie and Richard.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip K
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal pied a terre for exploring the city”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely well-appointed apartment, snug, comfortable and ideally central, a mere five minutes from the Royal Mile. What's more, it couldn't be closer to Greyfriars Churchyard, famous for the legendary Greyfriars Bobby. The rear window not only looks straight into the churchyard - you can even see the tombstone of John Gray, owner of the faithful little dog who refused to leave his master's grave.

In the sitting-room there's a very useful library of books, guides, etc, for Edinburgh in particular and Scotland in general - and a fine collection of Scottish-themed DVDs.

If you're visiting Edinburgh, you couldn't find a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfort, central location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanSz1898
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been visiting Edinburgh for over 30 years, and this is our first choice when booking somewhere to stay. By far the best-equipped flat we have ever stayed at, and a very central location. As we usually arrive by train, the lack of a parking is not a problem. And Julie and Richard are wonderful!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing