We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
433
334
73
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
334
73
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre lovely hotel cooked breakfast royal mile small hotel holyrood park four poster off street parking boutique hotel arthurs seat minute walk quiet location the ground floor room was large single room family room a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

We tried to book for the restaurant and was told the only time was 6pm and then there was only 1 table left.....annoyingly when we arrived and throughout the meal there were still 4 empty tables!! Food was OK and house wines rather poor.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as it was near the children's hospital that we were attending.

The family room was lovely and all of the staff were very helpful.

We never ate in the cafe but it looked lovely.

I will book this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Pwdbtbrblb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Pwdbtbrblb

Thank you for choosing our hotel and reviewing your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our facilities and staff. If you are looking to stay with us again, do let us know directly and we will organise a similar room for you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
The Salisbury Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

the room was overlooking the quiet garden and was so peaceful
there are shutters on the windows that totally black out and light and the bed was to die for
i had trouble waking my husband up
there staff of the reception desk are lovely and the room was kept very clean
there are some parking spaces outside and also on street parking

Room Tip: garden facing rooms peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear andyandmichel

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your husband were able enjoy a good night’s sleep.
If you are ever returning to Edinburgh, do let us know and we will certainly ensure that your room will overlook garden again.
We also appreciate your comments regarding friendly service of our reception team.

Kind Regards

The Salisbury Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were booked to see attend an event nearby and needed accommodation so tried this hotel. It was an excellent choice and all staff we met were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Mark stood out as being particularly helpful. The room was big enough and included two comfortable, easy chairs Next morning we went to breakfast in the basement cafe and enjoyed one vegetarian meal and one smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Again the staff were so nice and friendly and a pleasure to talk to.

The hotel is a wonderful Georgian building but the colour scheme and furnishings are definitely not Georgian in the bedroom we were in. Georgian colours are earthy, Autumn colours including terracotta, duck egg blue, olive green, butter yellow and warm browns. It would have been nice to have seen them.

Also there are no pure black and dark grey colours in a Georgian colour scheme but they were there in the hotel along with some other mismatched colours. Bedrooms are places to relax in and sleep well so light Georgian blues or greens with other balancing colours would have been great. Hotel owners or managers who choose decor colours forget that colour has a psychological impact on those sleeping in their rooms. Good colour choices also make rooms look classier and more expensive than poor colour choices.

We did enjoy this hotel though and would definitely go back. Well done to the staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mantras108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The reception was so welcoming. I was allowed to park in a secured spot even though we arrived well before check in. Our room is spacious and has a garden view and a window seat. King sized bed as booked. The place is kept very clean and decorated tastefully. Home for three days. The smiles, advice and directions is delivered with charm and

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Redserge479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews