We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 219
US$ 207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 361
US$ 301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 323
US$ 314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 261
US$ 210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Edinburgh Park(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$ 184
US$ 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$ 188
US$ 154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 215
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 171
US$ 141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 904
US$ 766
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 504
US$ 434
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
426
326
72
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
326
72
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrelovely hotelcooked breakfastroyal milesmall hotelholyrood parkfour posteroff street parkingboutique hotelarthurs seatminute walkthe ground floorquiet locationsingle roomroom was largeday ticketa lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

the room was overlooking the quiet garden and was so peaceful
there are shutters on the windows that totally black out and light and the bed was to die for
i had trouble waking my husband up
there staff of the reception desk are lovely and the room was kept very clean
there are some parking spaces outside and also on street parking

Room Tip: garden facing rooms peaceful
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandmichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburyhotel4345, Manager at The Salisbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear andyandmichel

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you and your husband were able enjoy a good night’s sleep.
If you are ever returning to Edinburgh, do let us know and we will certainly ensure that your room will overlook garden again.
We also appreciate your comments regarding friendly service of our reception team.

Kind Regards

The Salisbury Hotel



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were booked to see attend an event nearby and needed accommodation so tried this hotel. It was an excellent choice and all staff we met were very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Mark stood out as being particularly helpful. The room was big enough and included two comfortable, easy chairs Next morning we went to breakfast in the basement cafe and enjoyed one vegetarian meal and one smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Again the staff were so nice and friendly and a pleasure to talk to.

The hotel is a wonderful Georgian building but the colour scheme and furnishings are definitely not Georgian in the bedroom we were in. Georgian colours are earthy, Autumn colours including terracotta, duck egg blue, olive green, butter yellow and warm browns. It would have been nice to have seen them.

Also there are no pure black and dark grey colours in a Georgian colour scheme but they were there in the hotel along with some other mismatched colours. Bedrooms are places to relax in and sleep well so light Georgian blues or greens with other balancing colours would have been great. Hotel owners or managers who choose decor colours forget that colour has a psychological impact on those sleeping in their rooms. Good colour choices also make rooms look classier and more expensive than poor colour choices.

We did enjoy this hotel though and would definitely go back. Well done to the staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mantras108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The reception was so welcoming. I was allowed to park in a secured spot even though we arrived well before check in. Our room is spacious and has a garden view and a window seat. King sized bed as booked. The place is kept very clean and decorated tastefully. Home for three days. The smiles, advice and directions is delivered with charm and

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Redserge479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stayed in this hotel for the first time for 1 night. We checked in around 10pm and were informed that we would have to be out of the room by 10:30am which seems very early for a checkout. We also had to park our car behind someone else's car and were informed if they needed out they would call us and wake us to move our car.
The property is lovely, rooms are large with a very comfy bed and a nice shower room.
The cleanliness of the room was not good though, we were tired from flying for over 7 hours then driving from Glasgow and when we pulled back the covers of the bed there were hairs all over the bottom sheet, as well as other stains (they were cleaned but still not a good look) and hairs all over the pillows, we found a total of 6 hairs of different lengths throughout the bedding.
Breakfast was extra and for £5 you get a continental breakfast which we choose but there is not much options, there is a small selection of different things like a continental breakfast but no rolls or anything to put your cheese & cold meats etc in. A cooked breakfast was an option for £10 each and available to order if you wished.
I definitely expected more from a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I stayed in a single room while attending a conference nearby at the University of Edinburgh (off of Holyrood Park Road). The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was about an 8-minute walk to the Conference venue, while for travel to the Old Town, a bus stop was located just around the corner, where 7 different bus lines ran very frequently. The breakfast was good, but not great, and was not included in the price of the room. Overall, if I were attending a conference again at the same location, I would stay at this hotel, which I rated as very good. As a boutique hotel, it was a notch below one I had stayed in in Paris a few years ago, but cost-wise, the Salisbury Hotel was much more reasonably priced. As an aside, I had dinner at two nearby pubs during my stay --The Salisbury Arms (located at the end of Salisbury Road near Dalkeith Road) and The Abbey (on Newington Road), which I would both recommend.

Room Tip: The single room I stayed in overlooked a courtyard and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NLion75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews