We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Balmoral - loved it”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Balmoral - loved it”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

All staff professional, friendly & knowledgeable - swimming pool shut sadly. Breakfast good apart from French pancake which was a bit dry. Lovely bed & bathroom & enjoyed the Sundari bathroom experience!

Room Tip: Rm 640 good view of Arthur's seat & Calton Hill over top of building opposite.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,695
    713
    197
    81
    40
See reviews for
748
1,769
167
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Balmoral is an excellent hotel that earns its stars with nice amenities, but even more importantly, outstanding service from a great staff It combines all the benefits of a well appointed city hotel, with the personal service one more likely expects from a smaller, more "boutique" establishment. We were on holiday for 5 days with our children, and particularly in cities, you often need to trade excellent service for "child friendly." Not at the Balmoral. Somehow, they managed to do both, and for that, I am impressed.

LOCATION: Perfect. Walk out of the Waverly train station on Princes Street, and look to your right. There's the front door with the doorman and bell staff standing at the ready to escort you inside. The hotel is in the center of the action, and at least half of anything you might want to do on holiday in central Edinburgh is within a 10 minute walk.

ROOMS: We had 2 connecting Deluxe rooms, one for us, and one for the children, which together formed a very large and (VERY high ceiling) 2 BR suite. Rooms were spotless, well appointed, spacious, quiet, and had nicely appointed bathrooms, with, get this ... his and her bath robes and slippers, PLUS kid sized robes and slippers for the children, (one in 4 year old size, the other in 9 year old size). It was just after Easter, and upon entering the boys' room, we found Balmoral welcome kits (with quizzes and reading material about the hotel and Scotland for the children), plus two enormous chocolate eggs with each of their names on them! What a hit that was, I can assure you.

Housekeeping serviced the room twice each day, and was excellent. Any small request was immediately tendered to by the housekeeping staff.

DINING/FOOD: We had afternoon tea a couple of times, and it was well done. Lovely assortment of blends, and nicely prepared canapes, hours d'ouvres, and sweets. We ate room service breakfast every morning. it was well prepared and served precisely on time with a smile and great energy and effort. Great selection or hot & cold items, wonderful breads, and the most freshly squeezed juices you will find outside of Florida. They even have a separate children's room service breakfast menu. (Never seen that one before!) By the second day, when ordering evening tea and nightcaps to our room, I didn't even have to tell them what I wanted. As soon as room service picked up the phone, I heard: "good evening, mr. ....., would you like your usual tea and drinks this evening?" Now THAT'S how it should work.

SERVICE: Everyone was terrific. Front desk, bell staff, even the maintenance staff you might see in the hallway. Always a courteous and professional greeting and always a sincere interest in making sure the guest is well attended to at all times. One day it was raining, (shocking for Scotland, I know), and I had forgotten the umbrella from my room. The bellman immediately recognized my predicament (he was in earshot) and without missing the moment, offered one of the umbrellas kept at the desk.

OVERALL: Everything runs like a top, and I certainly can recommend this hotel not only for couples, but for families seeking a quality holiday in Edinburgh. Can't imagine you would want for anything at this hotel. The Balmoral truly delivers..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RW-GV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is in the perfect position for the shops and the tourist attractions and the service is fantastic. Breakfast is a little on the expensive side and the rooms are decorated in the usual 'browns' which perhaps lacks a little imagination. However if you want convenience and good service then this is an excellent place to stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicola_j565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Have stayed at the Balmoral a few times now and always come away relaxed and refreshed. Staff are always so helpful and polite and the service from everyone is exemplary. Rooms are comfortable and given you are right in the city centre well insulated against noise. Inner facing rooms may lack the view of the city but are generally the quietest - you would hardly know that you are in the city centre. Will be back! Soon hopefully.

Room Tip: Rooms high up give a good view in most directions across Edinburgh and keep street noise to a minimu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just spent 2 nights @ The Balmoral as a special birthday treat from my cousin. 1st Class in every way. We were greeted at the door by the doorman in full Highland dress who took us up to our rooms.

We were treated like Royalty & every guest is treated the same whatever your class, the sign of a very good hotel.

Room had a view of the castle & was immaculate in every way, very clean, comfiest bed's ever. Your room was cleaned twice a day & bed turned down with a mat & slippers laid out at the side & fresh bottled water & apples every night.The Bolliginger Bar was amazing, where you could have High Tea or just drinks. First day we had a Harpist playing & the second was a pianist, very nice.

A visit to the Spa where there is a lovely pool, sauna & steam room is a must!!! There is also treatment rooms, gym & a relaxing room which was heaven !!!! I had a massage & it was the most relaxing massage I have ever had,children are most welcome too, the staff in the spa were so nice.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from with very efficient & friendly staff

Every member of staff acknowledged you from the doormen to the chambermaids. We hope to return soon

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMAMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,804 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,031 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,174 - ₹ 66,831
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing