We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Room Service
      The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Reviews (4,104)
      Filter reviews
      4,104 results
      Traveller rating
      2,968
      782
      219
      88
      47
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      2,968
      782
      219
      88
      47
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsthe palm courthadrian's brasseriescotch barrocco fortemarble bathroomsean conneryconcierge stafftrain stationbeautiful hotelturn down serviceluxury hotelprinces streetbirthday treatedinburgh castlecastle viewroyal milespa
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      2,991 - 2,996 of 4,104 reviews
      Reviewed 15 April 2012

      First of all, the bed! It was huge and it was so comfortable. The covers and pillows were great and soft but not too soft.

      The size of it was good and so was the bathroom.

      The service is excellent and we were well taken care of.

      They first took our luggage and took our name and showed us to the reception.

      The lady who worked there explained to us where the breakfast was, asked if we had been there before and if we needed any help, just let her know.

      There was something wrong with the keycards, so she came with us to the room to let us in and show us how the room worked. Very nice lady. We then later got our luggage and our keycards and everything was fine.

      The only thing I was a bit disappointed over was the breakfast. We had it included. And we could go have our scottish breakfast and have as much as we wanted, but sadly there was no fried eggs there, only scrambled. And no beans. It wasn't as good as I was hoping for, atleast not for a 5 star hotel.

      But other than that, the stay was excellent and had a gret view over the city and could see Arthurs Seat from our window

      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank katti988
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 April 2012

      This is a 5* hotel in all respects. The service of the staff is first and foremost of the highest quality. The people who work there are genuinely nice. Some hotels - the staff try to be nice and are sweet in a syrupy way. Not at the Balmoral - the staff are very respectful, polite and genuine. They truly make the hotel. The concierge staff stand out. The restaurants that they recommeded ALL were extremely good. The room was lovely, the spa extremely nice - especially the quiet room at the end of the service. The pool area was great and relaxing. Our room overlooked the old town and was quiet and comfortable. The TV was not the greatest at working so we gave up and just read books, which is better for us anyway. The TV most definitely does not detract from giving this hotel the highest rating.

      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank gourmetwashington
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 April 2012

      We treated ourselves to a night at The Balmoral and a fabulous meal in the Michelin Star Number One restaurant to recover after a couple of nights sleeping on a sofabed and intensive visiting of family. The room was good but a little old fashioned, the staff very helpful, the bathroom gorgeous and the meal wonderfully entertaining and delicious. We felt looked after and nutured and enjoyed sightseeing in Edinburgh too. Mary King Close was interesting. Our only complaint was that there was a huge charge for wifi in the room. In this day and age this is quite shocking for the amount of money the room costs. The swimming pool was quite nice but the kids were noisy so it wasn't very relaxing.

      Room Tip: Some have views of the castle. We had a view over the junction of the Bridges with Princes St which wasn't too noisy because the road was closed, but could be very noisy I would think.
      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank deejaygasworks
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 10 April 2012

      The much talked about, plush, posh, historic, call it what you want in Edinburgh is the Balmoral and is an institution by itself.
      We stayed a couple of nights in a castle facing room just before easter. While the room itself was large with high ceilings etc, the view was blighted by the tram works in progress on Princes street, sure, no fault of the hotel, but felt we should have been warned for transparency sake, especially if one is forking our £330 a night for a castle facing room.
      The check in was smooth and car efficiently valet parked (£27 a night). The only cjild friendly restaurant is the Hadrian, where the service (especially at Breakfast) is great.
      The overall is service is what you would expect from a hotel of this standing and there were nice little touches (Tedy on my daughter's bed and her own bathrobe). The concierge and the door men were very helpful with directions, given the number of road works in progress.
      Overall, while there is a bit of a "wow" factor in the hotel, this is nothing compared to the service of a comparable Hotel in Asia, for half the price.
      Will we go back? Not sure, probably the "been there done that" factor would kick in and would be tempted to try another place and there are quite a few hop and happening new hotels in Edinburgh.

      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Viviano_12
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 9 April 2012

      Everything about The Balmoral is superb, except for one thing ~ the way in which our 5 year old son was not only accommodated but welcomed was truly EXCEPTIONAL. We stay in five star hotels all over the world, and this was by far they best experience we've ever had ~ right down to child sized slippers, bath robe and cutlery. Often high end hotels discourage children, so it was such a revelation to find this level of service for the whole family. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Keep up the excellent work Balmoral ~ we'll be back!

      Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms (two different trips) ~ one was outward facing and one was inward facing with no view. Both were lovely rooms, but if you can ask for an outward view room.
      • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Nicole J
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews