We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing service”
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing service”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The conceriege staff is amazing! I was not a guest, but stopped into the hotel to get my bearings. I asked the concierge for directions to a local restaurant, and he offered to call and secure a reservation for me for dinner (on mother's day, no less) I had a fabulous dinner, and a lovely cocktail waiting for me at the restaurant, compliments of the concierege at the Balmoral. The hotel is beautiful, and the attention to detail is perfect. I'd stay here in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LAtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,656
    702
    195
    79
    39
See reviews for
729
1,743
166
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

First of all, the bed! It was huge and it was so comfortable. The covers and pillows were great and soft but not too soft.

The size of it was good and so was the bathroom.

The service is excellent and we were well taken care of.

They first took our luggage and took our name and showed us to the reception.

The lady who worked there explained to us where the breakfast was, asked if we had been there before and if we needed any help, just let her know.

There was something wrong with the keycards, so she came with us to the room to let us in and show us how the room worked. Very nice lady. We then later got our luggage and our keycards and everything was fine.

The only thing I was a bit disappointed over was the breakfast. We had it included. And we could go have our scottish breakfast and have as much as we wanted, but sadly there was no fried eggs there, only scrambled. And no beans. It wasn't as good as I was hoping for, atleast not for a 5 star hotel.

But other than that, the stay was excellent and had a gret view over the city and could see Arthurs Seat from our window

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katti988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a 5* hotel in all respects. The service of the staff is first and foremost of the highest quality. The people who work there are genuinely nice. Some hotels - the staff try to be nice and are sweet in a syrupy way. Not at the Balmoral - the staff are very respectful, polite and genuine. They truly make the hotel. The concierge staff stand out. The restaurants that they recommeded ALL were extremely good. The room was lovely, the spa extremely nice - especially the quiet room at the end of the service. The pool area was great and relaxing. Our room overlooked the old town and was quiet and comfortable. The TV was not the greatest at working so we gave up and just read books, which is better for us anyway. The TV most definitely does not detract from giving this hotel the highest rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We treated ourselves to a night at The Balmoral and a fabulous meal in the Michelin Star Number One restaurant to recover after a couple of nights sleeping on a sofabed and intensive visiting of family. The room was good but a little old fashioned, the staff very helpful, the bathroom gorgeous and the meal wonderfully entertaining and delicious. We felt looked after and nutured and enjoyed sightseeing in Edinburgh too. Mary King Close was interesting. Our only complaint was that there was a huge charge for wifi in the room. In this day and age this is quite shocking for the amount of money the room costs. The swimming pool was quite nice but the kids were noisy so it wasn't very relaxing.

Room Tip: Some have views of the castle. We had a view over the junction of the Bridges with Princes St which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejaygasworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The much talked about, plush, posh, historic, call it what you want in Edinburgh is the Balmoral and is an institution by itself.
We stayed a couple of nights in a castle facing room just before easter. While the room itself was large with high ceilings etc, the view was blighted by the tram works in progress on Princes street, sure, no fault of the hotel, but felt we should have been warned for transparency sake, especially if one is forking our £330 a night for a castle facing room.
The check in was smooth and car efficiently valet parked (£27 a night). The only cjild friendly restaurant is the Hadrian, where the service (especially at Breakfast) is great.
The overall is service is what you would expect from a hotel of this standing and there were nice little touches (Tedy on my daughter's bed and her own bathrobe). The concierge and the door men were very helpful with directions, given the number of road works in progress.
Overall, while there is a bit of a "wow" factor in the hotel, this is nothing compared to the service of a comparable Hotel in Asia, for half the price.
Will we go back? Not sure, probably the "been there done that" factor would kick in and would be tempted to try another place and there are quite a few hop and happening new hotels in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviano_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#93 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Property: The Balmoral Hotel
Address: 1 Princes St, Edinburgh EH2 2EQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Princes Street and Gardens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,015 - ₹ 70,674
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balmoral Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find The Balmoral at Edinburgh's most prestigious address, No. 1 Princes Street, where the Old Town stops and the New Town begins. Our hotel's majestic clock defines the city's skyline and since the day we opened in 1902 it has run three minutes fast to ensure you will never miss your train. The Balmoral is a grand railway hotel where our porters can still be organised to whisk guests from the station hall to the reception desk, and our kilted doormen will guide you into the hotel. Experience Number One our Michelin-starred restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea at Palm Court or drinks in the signature whisky bar, Scotch. A comprehensive range of treatments will help you unwind in the award-wining Balmoral Spa. The 188 opulent suites and stylish rooms have magnificent views of the city or the hotel's internal courtyard. The hotel's ten banqueting suites all enjoy natural daylight and stunning views of Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or the historic Old Town and can accommodate a wide range of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh
Balmoral Edinburgh Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing