We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Steakhouse”

Shebeen Morrison Street
Ranked #68 of 2,628 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 46
Cuisines: African, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Located on Morrison street this small restaurant has plenty to offer. Great food and a relax atmosphere all adds to this little gem in the heart of the city. 2 min walk away from the Usher Hall and a 5 minute walk to the famous Grassmarket area of the city
Reviewed 17 August 2017

A good place to eat steaks. The meat and the side dishes are delicious. Remarkably they don't have english or scotish beer or wine, they offer south africa taste.

Thank Hoette99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corne V, Public Relations Manager at Shebeen Morrison Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good day Hoette99

Thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed the experience and we look forward to having you back.

Team Shebeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Don't know what I was expecting but I didn't get it. Soggy Calamari and soggy chips average tasting steak, wife had Meatballs and found it hard cutting them, again tasteless. Looked awesome as you can see but tasted average. Not my bag. not worth price

1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corne V, Public Relations Manager at Shebeen Morrison Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Good day Mark B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience with us. I do apologise if you feel we have let you down. We do take pride in our food and find it that looking at previous reviews we unfortunately cant please everyone. We do hope that you can reconsider another experience

Corné

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I was here with a few friends and family, the service was great and the staff were very welcoming.

I had the lion size sirlion steak medium rare. Cooked perfect and the chips, onion rings and mushroom were also fantastic. My steak had a good bit of fat on it, but other than that I couldn't fault it.

The rest of my group had the burgers and the beef and reef (prawns and minute steak) everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals.

It was also nice to have a selection of South African beers, I will be back.

Thank 19-Ben-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent food with very knowledgable waitress who made appropriate recommendations for food and wine once she discovered how we preferred our steak to be cooked. Great atmosphere fabulous staff and the food was melt in the mouth - a great find.

1  Thank judithatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch while travelling on business, food was great especially boerewors and pap and malva pudding was a great finish

Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corne V, Public Relations Manager at Shebeen Morrison Street, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good day Mark v

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent experience.

Team Shebeen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shebeen Morrison Street also viewed

 

Been to Shebeen Morrison Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing