We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I had a dinner with friends and one night stay at this new very stylish property. A la carte menu was something amazing. Very innovative and appealing options, it was hard to choose. Set menu did not look disappointing as well. The size of chips that came with steak was something out of this world! And the winelist had some reasonably priced wines, which I was happy about, especially Malbec, which went very well with our steaks.
The only minus I could spot in Indigo hotel was service in restaurant and bar. Felt like staff were lacking experience and did couple mistakes, which was quite odd for such a luxurious hotel. However they were pleasant and looked like trying hard.
The room was fantastic! The amenities were quality, so were the robes (very soft), whole interior and bathroom facilities were best you could expect. Breakfast room service and food was flawless. Restaurant team did great job by being personal and chatty yet professional. And we felt that immediate (about one hour after delivery) breakfast trays pick up was a nice touch. Our stay was smooth and very enjoyable, would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Eva,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner at our Turquoise Thistle restaurant, bar and lounge. Our head chef Dan is extremely passionate about sourcing only the best of Scotland's produce which is why everything we prepare just taste that little bit better.

All our team have undergone a lot of training on both customer service and product knowledge and we are continuously retraining and adding to the existing knowledge.

I am very happy to hear that you liked the room you stayed in. All our rooms come with complimentary mini bars, spa inspired rainfall showers, luxury toiletries and bath robes and individually controllable air conditioning to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future.

Stay vibrant,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    405
    117
    24
    12
See reviews for
104
685
60
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here last weekend to celebrate brothers 50th and have to say this is a great little hotel in a fantastic location. 5 minutes walk from Waverley station and 50 yards from the playhouse, cinemas, and 250 yards from George street this hotel is really great. Having only been open a few weeks eveything is new, from entering the hot from the unobtrussive entrance on hope street you are welcomed into a small but trendy reception area which leads thought to a cute little bar area and separate restaurant, the blue thistle. Bedrooms are very well set up and appointed with bespoke bedroom decor, chaise longe, giant double beds with Plasma TV at the bottom for late night/lazy mornings:-). Plenty of cupboard space, free mini bar with soft drinks, chocolate, popcorn etc is also a nice touch along with good quality coffee, tea and biscuits. Bathroom is also very plush with robes, good quality avida toiletries, walk in rain shower, bath and vanity unit, all glitzy and new. We had some great cocktails in the bar on the 1st night which the hotel gave us complimentary when mentioned the occasion but 2nd round were still good value at £6.50. Finally breakfast was one of the best I've had in years, loved the homemade potato cakes and scrambled eggs. Only gripe was fitting all of the tea pots, bean pans, toast racks etc etc onto the too small tables other than that a great great hotel with great friendly service in good location....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about your stay with us at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that we were able to make your brothers 50th birthday celebration special and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You are right, we are in a ideal location for guests that are looking to explore Edinburgh's shopping on Multrees walk, George street and Princes street, see the numerous sights in our neighbourhood like the newly reopened national portrait gallery or enjoy a play or comedy show at the Playhouse or Comedy stand.

Our hotel entrance from York Place has been designed to stay very much in keeping with the facade of our five Georgian townhouses but with splashes of colour from our turquoise plant pots.

I am glad you enjoyed our freshly prepared full Scottish breakfast. Our chefs pride themselves in preparing as much as possible in our kitchen and every order of breakfast is prepared fresh.

I hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh soon.

Stay curious,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Indigo with my Boyfriend last weekend and must say the hotel really made the weekend special. The service was absolutely impeccable and the issue we had with the bed moving because of the castors on the wooden flooring was sorted out within minutes of us mentioning it.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and the complementary mini bar with snacks and soft drinks was a really nice touch but was disappointed to be told that it wouldn't be re-stocked as the literature in the room lead you believe it would be. The toiletries in the bathroom as well as the dressing gowns and slippers were also a very nice touch and the bed was extremely comfortable.

We really enjoyed the breakfast included in with the price of our room as we never left hungry with the selection of continental and cooked breakfast available and again the service in the restaurant left you wanting for nothing.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Edinburgh because as well as the service we received it is also in a great location

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear DBM31,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the comfort of your bedroom and that the issue with your rolling bed was resolved efficiently. We do have complimentary mini bars with snacks, soft drinks and fresh milk in all rooms and are more than happy to replenish these on request.

I am also delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast with us. Our head chef is very keen to only source the best of Scotland's local produce. If you enjoyed your breakfast why not try dinner at the Turquoise Thistle restaurant on your next visit?

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and I hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood in the near future.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night in April. Right from check in to check out our experience at this hotel could not have been better. The staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The room we stayed in was very large, much more so than most city hotel rooms. The standard of furnishing was extremely high throughout the hotel, and the beds have to be the most comfortable I have slept in when away from home. The bathroom was impeccabbly clean and was well stocked with Aveda toiletries. Three of us shared a room, and in previous hotels we have had to ask for extra cups/towels etc, however at the Indigo there were enough towels, bathrobes etc for the three guests using the room. The hotel is close to the PlayHouse and only a short walk from St Andrews Square, George Street and Princes Street. There is also a very good pub and restaurant, The Magnum, a very short walk away. Perfect for a short break in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at our Hotel Indigo Edinburgh.

I am delighted to hear that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are very spacious for a city center hotel. This is mainly due to the fact that we have kept as much of the original features of our 200 year old Georgian townhouses that make up our hotel. The cornicing in the room you stayed in is especially beautiful and has been lovingly restored.

We do pride ourselves in providing luxury toiletries, complimentary mini bars with soft drinks, snacks and fresh milk, bathrobes and free WiFi in all our rooms.

Why not try our Turquoise Thistle Restaurant, Bar and Lounge the next time you stay? We have a fantastically priced pre-theatre menu at only £14 for two courses. Our chefs are extremely passionate about sourcing only the best of Scotland's local produce so you can be sure to get great value for money.

I am thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My dad and I travelled to Edinburgh on Good Friday to watch my soon paly in a Rugby Tournament, we changed to Hotel Indigo at the last minute. What a surprise when we arrived to find this Gem of a Hotel. The staff were very friendy and helpful. Dad & I had a good evening sat in the bar, Food was FANTASTIC and the Bar staff very friendly. Shame we were only stopping the one night. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominicKutschera, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Edinburgh, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh. It was a pleasure to meet you and your father and I hope the rugby tournament was reasonably successful.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your burgers in the bar. I have passed on your fathers comments about the triple cooked chips and the delicious choice of sauces to our chefs and they were delighted with your comments. I think it is safe to say that the great produce we are using and the passion which our chefs have show in all the dishes we serve.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel Indigo Edinburgh in the near future.

Stay original,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#28 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Edinburgh

Property: Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Address: 51 - 59 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,011 - ₹ 22,624
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh welcomes you in April 2012! Set in the heart of the historic city of Edinburgh. Steeped in history itself, the hotel building dates back to the early 1800’s with many of the historic features preserved. Each stylish room offers up to date technology with a media hub offering guests the connectivity they demand whilst on the move. Relax in our lounge bar and restaurant, savouring some of Scotland’s favourite dishes and drinks with a contemporary twist. For something special join us for afternoon tea or pre and post theatre dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing