We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional, fun & great value for money :)”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 41.21*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
More Info
US$ 17.86*
and up
Edinburgh Night Walking Including Underground Vaults
More Info
US$ 17.86*
and up
Underground Vaults Historical Walking Tour in Edinburgh
Ranked #20 of 206 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very interesting. Black Agnes was our guide. Professional & fun.

Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,421)
There are newer reviews for Mercat Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,413 - 3,417 of 4,424 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Three of us took the Gallows to Graveyard tour on Friday, April 13th. There were only about nine people on the tour in total. That should give you some idea of its popularity. I was looking forward to hearing some spooky tales of old Edinburgh and enjoying my evening but, instead, was given a third-rate comedy act. Alex, our guide, was constantly involving audience members in his “bits”. Unfortunately, I was selected to wear an idiotic yellow hat for half the tour as part of one of his bits. I was tempted to walk off the tour at this point but was pressured into being a “good sport”. There is a thin line between being a good sport and being made a fool. This tour was definitely the low point of my nine day visit to Scotland. I will never take a Mercat Tour again or recommend them to anyone. Note to Mercat Tours: making fools of your customers isn’t the best business practice.

6  Thank pestcomics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Many thanks for taking time to review your tour with us. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the experience. Our aim, and promise, is to bring the stories of Old Edinburgh alive by evoking the imagination using passion, humour and dramatic storytelling. We're sorry that this type of experience didn't appeal. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We took two walking tours with Mercat while in Edinburgh. Both were excellent. The first with Roger (not sure I've got the guides names right) was "The Secrets of the Royal Mile" which we took at 2:15 p.m. on April 16. We learned so much and saw parts of the city that we would never have found. The guide was very knowledgeable and made the city come alive. He did not rush us and spent took time to insure that he answered all our questions. The group was small (5 people) so we got a lot of individual attention.

The second was a tour of the Vaults with Ross (?) on April 17 at 2:00 p.m.. While this was a much larger group our guide was excellent. He made the tour not only interesting but humorous.

Both tours were well worth the time and money.

1  Thank NASNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind reviews! We're delighted you enjoyed your tours with Roger and Ross and will be sure to pass on your comments - you are a Mercat veteran! Please let us know when you next visit and we will ensure you receive your returner's discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stuart did a great job under the very adverse conditions of a tough crowd of 10 heckling 13 year old girls intent on showing how unafraid they were. He got his revenge though with the last story, deep underground the Blair street bridge with only a candle to illuminate his face with ghostly shadows, he scared the bejeezus out of them, leaving them screaming and sobbing. We had a great time! My 10 year old was just scared enough and enjoyed the first-hand accounts of other tourists who had encountered ghosts 'earlier in the day'. Nice job Stuart!!

Thank Adrienne1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thanks for getting in touch and reviewing your tour with Stuart - making children cry is a strange talent!

We hope you visit us again - keep in touch on facebook and twitter until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We tried the Hidden and Haunted tour, late night from Mercat Cross. Our guide was bearded scotish gent who delivered his stories in his heavy accent like a parrot. We started with some stories relaed a few feet from the cross at an adjacent city council building. The mood was completely spoilt by some mainland folk laughing and drinking at the benches. We tried our best to pay attention but the heavy accent and over dramatic delivery of bland stories just did it for us, and within 10 minutes we completely lost interest.

The only saving grace was the blair street vault, which might interest first timers.
I guess the tour price covers the rent to control these vaults. We were having a closer at one of the chambers, that we found someone dressing up in a black costume behind a cloak. Perhaps he was getting ready to spook the next tour.

Do it if have 10 pounds and an hour spare, else just take a nice walk by yourself. High Street is just gorgeous place to walk in the night.

1  Thank indieglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Many thanks for leaving your feedbakc on your tour - we're sorry you feel it wasn't a 5star experience.

Our guides are from a large variety of background and each carry their own accent, which we don't discriminate against. During training they learn to adapt their voice and performance for a mixed audience and we will certainly focus on this closely.

I'm afraid that we cannot control the 'acitivy' of members of the public on the Mile - again, our guides are trained to anticipate and adapt to any form of disruption and we will make a point of reminding them to be vigilant and flexible.

Our tours on the Mile and in the Underground Vaults rely on the storytelling skills and dramatic flair of the guides. We do not have any 'jumper ooters' or costumed characters to 'scare' groups so perhaps it wasn't a person hiding in the Vaults you saw...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing