We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect in every way!!!"”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“"Perfect in every way!!!"”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My boyfriend and i were going to a concert at the Usher hall, late March ( to see the fantastic Joe Bonamassa!) and didnt just want any hotel, it had to be somewhere special to make the whole experience perfect. We like quality and as soon as we came across this hotel on tripadvisor, we immediatly fell in love with it and i have to say the photo`s dont do it justice. It is absolutely stunning, and the staff are the most helpful and friendliest we have come across anywhere! The hotel has the perfect location for exploring both the old and new towns.
We booked the castle view room (no.11) and it was amazing! light and airey, spotlessly clean with a beautiful large wet room and a walk in rainfall shower, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable, everything you could possibly need was included in the room, even fresh milk and bottled water and the complimentary muffins and shortbread were delicious! We were amazed at how quiet the room was, considering the busy location but we didnt hear a noise from outside, the whole of our stay! We had a cooked breakfast on the two mornings, it was delicious and plenty of it, we were`nt hungry for hours afterwards! We ate dinner at the hotels Kyloe restaurant on the two nights of our stay. The restaurant specialises in steak and the knowledge of staff is outstanding. We had steak on the both nights it was that good!!!
We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes somewhere unique. luxurious, spotlessly clean, amazing decor, truley scrumptious food and the friendliest staff you could ever meet. From the moment we walked through the door right up until we were leaving, there was a truely relaxing atmosphere, and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. We would like to say a big thank you to Claire who made our stay most enjoyable and really went out of her way to help us. We will most definately stay here again on our next trip to Edinburgh!!!

Room Tip: Room 11 is extremely quiet with a great castle view and large wetroom with walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Hi guys,

Just a wee note to say thank you very much for writing such a great review for the hotel! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and that we could help make it memorable for you.

I wonder though, if you managed to get your flight home, with a Joe Bonamassa drum stick in your bag???

I look forward to having you back in the hotel,

Many thanks, and kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    250
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
142
707
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Rutland Hotel in March.
We arrived by car, there is no off street parking at the hotel, the street outside is restricted residential parking permits or further down the street there is parking meters. When we enquired at the hotel where we could park we were directed to a multi storey car park that was part of a hotel chain about 10 minutes walk away. This car park charged £18 for greater than 8 hours per day.

We had booked a room with a spa bath. The room itself was nice with good quality furnishings, mini bar, and filter coffee. But for all intents and purposes there was no window. There was a window, but there was an extension from the room next door coming into our room that blocked the window so there was only about a 1 foot gap where the room was angled away from the window.

We had paid extra for a cooked breakfast each morning. The breakfast is served in the Rutland bar, as we had a good meal in the restaurant upstairs the night before we were looking forward to breakfast. But we should not have bothered it was rank.
The toast came on the plate on top of your breakfast with nowhere to put it when eating the breakfast. The potato scone was not cooked, the pork sausage was foul and the scrambled egg was overcooked.

We cancelled breakfast for the next day and they refunded us for both days breakfast.

If you plan to go to the Rutland hotel, take the train and pass on the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: not room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritikos-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I am a regular visitor to Edinburgh on business, and the Rutland is always my first choice hotel. The rooms are clean, bright and modern - the Executive Rooms on particular are very spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are really good, I love the rainfall showers, and the fact that it took me until about my tenth stay to work out that the lighting around the mirror worked by 'touch' says more about me than it does about the hotel!! The complimentary muffin and shortbreads are a great touch - I always take them home to my wife, who raves about them!!

The location is perfect for my business appointments, also within easy walking distance of many great bars and restaurants. Despite being on a major intersection, I have never been bothered by road noise.

The staff are always delightful, very friendly, welcoming and helpful. All in all I would thoroughly recommend The Rutland to any business or leisure traveller to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvictaGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased you enjoy your time with us, and that you keep coming back for more!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here last weekend and the whole experience of The Rutland Hotel really made my break. From entering the hotel with the extremely excellent staff, to the wonderful room, great size, comfy bed, nice touches such as fresh milk and muffins, to the REALLY quite brilliant steak restaurant. The pastry chef there is worth the trip alone.
Thank you very much Rutland Hotel. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: I chose a bigger room and it was a good size and had a jacuzzi bath if you like that sort of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippydedoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi folks,

I just wanted to thank you for writing your review of The Rutland Hotel!

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and will definitely make sure the staff all read your nice comments.

Regards the pastry chef - I completely agree - the desserts are fantastic!!!

I hope we see you again!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at The Rutland for our 10th wedding anniversary. It was the end of a holiday in the Highlands.we wanted to finish in Edinburgh. I did a lot of research beforehand and settled for this one as it looked great. It did NOT disappoint. I had booked a castle view room and had asked for room 5 if poss. We had room 5, we also had a lovely rose and a card congratulating us with a bottle of Preosecco and some little cakes. I was over the moon, this was just a perfect way of ending our anniversary. It was a surprise for my husband so he was very impressed! It's little things like this that make such a difference. The room was great. Decor as I had hoped for. Wonderful large bed, brilliant view of the castle, jacuzzi bath. Location was great for both the old and new town and also the train station. Everyone at reception was lovely. I couldn't ask for anymore. We loved Edinburgh and would like to come back and we will definitely stay at The Rutland. Thank you so much for making our Anniversary so wonderful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi folks!

I just wanted to write a small note to thank you for your very kind review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we could help make it special for you both.

I hope you will make it back to Edinburgh sometime soon, and if you do, please let us be your first port of call!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,771 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,087 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,211 - ₹ 33,954
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing