We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb. Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barony House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barony House
Ranked #4 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb. Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were there for five days - an absolute brilliant place. It is hard to pick the highlights because there were only highlights. The atmosphere, the friendliness of Leo and Susie, the cozy room, everything. Complimentary sherry and scottish shortbread everyday, the Marvellous Breakfast made by Leo and Susie everyday, the cleanliness everyday, the wonderful heating system and the comfy bed. It's 5-8 min to city centre by bus ( plenty of buses), and 15-20 min easy walking if you prefer. The surrounding is safe, good.
Would return anytime. It's the perfect spot for Edinburgh, believe me.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms not next to the kitchen are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kucu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    68
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
101
404
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here as we were in scotland for a martial arts grading and needed somewhere close to our venue.

We weren't sure what to expect but we were very happy with everything. Plenty of options for breakfast, cooked breakfast and cereal etc served at the time you want it, very clean rooms and friendly owners who couldn't have done more for us. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPro200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

An excellent guesthouse that's only a very short bus ride from all of the main attractions in Edinburgh. We arrived about 8am and were able to check into our room and have breakfast, no extra charge. Room was spotless and cleaned every day, and the bed and choice of breakfast were fantastic. Highly recommended and cant wait to go back! Thanks for a brilliant stay. A & A

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrowne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My partner and I stayed here on a roadtrip to Scotland from Cornwall, we travelled down after a couple days in Inverness we stayed in Barony House which we booked via late rooms. when we arrived at the b&b though it was a bit difficult to originally find the reception was polite, helpful and patient.

The room was amazing, spacious, comfortable with all the amenities you could need. And we had one of the best sleeps in our lives.

The rooms have a folder full of information on local resturants and bus routes etc.

The breakfast the next day was wonderful also, plenty of choice and in a wonderful location.

If we traveled to Edinburgh again we would stay here without fail.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowpeep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelyabinsk, Chelyabinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We recommend this guest house to everybody! Room is very comfortable, clean and beautiful. Scott is very friendly and hospitable person. The location is good. This is not a city center but not far from city center. So we've spent about 25 minutes by foot from Barony House to the city center in our first day. Also you can go to the city center by bus and it is about 5-7 minutes. And bus stops are located near from B&B. There are different café or restaurants about 5 minutes from B&B where you can have a dinner. Breakfast in this lovely guest house is varied and tasty! You can choose English, continental or vegetarian breakfast. Also you find a lot of compliments in Barony House!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
94DR
#10 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barony House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barony House

Property: Barony House
Address: 20 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,852 - ₹ 11,183
Hotel Class:4 star — Barony House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book directly with Barony House. Barony House is a lovely Victorian terraced villa, retaining its traditional appearance with some wonderful original cornice work and elegant high ceiling rooms. We are located on a main road which takes you straight into the city centre, only 1.6 Miles away. Catch a passing bus or take a leisurely 29 minute stroll passed the many stunning Georgian and Victorian buildings. Turn left up Edinburgh's cobbled Royal Mile to Edinburgh Castle or carry on to the famous Princes Street. The famous Arthur's Seat, the largest hill in Holyrood Park, is a 19 minute walk away. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are provided in each of Barony House's light and airy rooms. Toiletries and a hairdryer are also included. Most rooms have an en-suite bathroom. Freshly brewed tea and coffee with a buffet breakfast are served in the elegant dining room. Free Wi-Fi can be accessed throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Barony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing