We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodgings, friendly hosts”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #58 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at Glenalmond House recently and found Fiona and Jimmy to be wonderful hosts. The room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast filling and delicious (even the haggis). Their list of local pubs and restaurants was very helpful, and a lending library is always a welcome touch. The location was convenient for walking or riding the bus into town. A delightful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bart679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I have recently returned form spending easter weekend in Eninburgh, We stayed at Glenalmond House, this location was ideal for us both as it was on a main bus route into the city centre which even on a busy day only took 10 mins. The welcome from Jimmy when we arrived was great he gave us the numbers for the buses into the city, showed us where to get on and off the bus just outside the Gelenalmond. The breakfast on all three mornings were wonderful with a large slection to choose from. The room was well decorated, bed was comfortable, free Wi Fi, large LCD TV with freview channels, one touch that we thought was great was the ice machine in the dinning room which you can help yourself too if you bring your own nightcap with you. On suite was of a very high standard of cleanliness, good quality toiletries and towels. We will certainly use it again in the future and would recommend it to all

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are larger than the double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan-Bob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

we read reviews on trip advisor which were all positive and decided to book a weekend stay here and we were not disappointed.. from the moment we walked in the house, we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast on both mornings were wonderful (pancakes, salmon and scrambled eggs and not forgetting a full Scottish cooked breakfast) plenty of choice for breakfast. the bedroom we stayed in had a four poster bed, no complaints whatsover about the room. very easy access to edinburgh either from the bus stop over the road or do what we did and walk (took 20 mins). The weather was on our side. Overall, we would certainly recommend this hotel and we will book again on our next trip to Edinburgh. Thank you to Jimmy and Fiona for your hospitality.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Glenalmond House.
On arrival I was welcomed by Fiona who give me a map of the city which included bus routes and numbers very handy.
My room number 9 was a single room on the first floor road facing.
The room is well decorated and well coordinated. The double bed is comfortable with quality bedding which made for a good nights sleep.
There is a LCD television with Freeview, tea, coffee and hot chocolate is available and is regularly topped up. Free wifi is available so you can keep in touch with friends and family.
The ensuite is immaculate it looks like it has been recently refurbished good powerful warm shower and white fluffy towels with good quality toiletries.
The breakfasts are amazing with a good choice to choose from I had cereals, the vegetarian breakfast, and scrambled egg with smoked salmon delicious.
Fiona and Jimmy have an excellent b&b immaculately clean, comfortable, friendly and welcoming they cannot do enough for you highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get In touch with Fiona and Jimmy they will sort you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The B&B is in a very good location on the bus route into the city. The Scottish breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it, It would have been nice to have some music in the background as it was really quiet and felt a bit like everyone was listening to each others conversations.
The four poster bedroom was decorated to a very high standard, lovely and clean and the bed was so comfy and cozy!
However I was suprised that the biscuits in the room were blue ribband and breakaway, felt this was not in traddition to the Scottish theme. The hot water was not hot!
On the whole a great little b&b but would try somwhere else next time. My partner felt it was not up to the 4* we usually stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoned6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 km away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 394 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
0.0 km away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
0.3 km away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#24 of 394 in Edinburgh
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
376 reviews
0.1 km away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
0.5 km away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#32 of 394 in Edinburgh
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: ₹ 7,122 - ₹ 10,040 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing