We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
752
541
100
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
752
541
100
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maternity hospital royal mile grassmarket area minute walk grass market lothian road lovely hotel within walking distance would definitely stay here again family room large room princes street main attractions stayed here for nights would highly recommend this hotel quiet area city break
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall the staff and location are great. Property has been renovated recently with upscale touches and you couldn’t find a better breakfast anywhere. With choices of fresh fruit, yogurt, hot items from eggs to haggis, a great start to your day. And talk about above and beyond, they found out we had a very early departure and made sure we left with a full belly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the courtyard for extra quiet.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesbrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhishekS4613, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Simpson Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jamesbrubin

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Simpson Townhouse Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for us. We like to start everyone well for the day so we offer a wide variety of local produce, thank you for mentioning the great breakfast we serve.
We’re very lucky to have an enthusiastic team who enjoy helping guests make the most of their stay – glad you made use of this.
I do hope we can welcome you again if you decide to return to Edinburgh in the future. Many thanks for glowing recommendation for your wonderful stay at the hotel.

With warm regards
Abhishek Singh
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent staff. Lovely clean rooms and soft comfy beds. Really good night's sleep and was a pleasure not to hear doors closing or guests. So peaceful. Easy short walk to wide choice of restaurants. No parking but some spaces just outside and no charge after 6pm till 0830.Good breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jurys Inn
Thank niksmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhishekS4613, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Simpson Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear niksmith2018

Many thanks for your kind comments and for taking the time to post your review. It was very kind of you to highlight how helpful and friendly our team were during your time here and it will be my pleasure to let them know how much they were able to enhance your visit to Edinburgh by offering excellent customer service.

I’m pleased to read you found the room quiet. All our rooms have secondary glazing to reduce street noise – glad you appreciated this.

Hopefully we can welcome you and your family back at some point soon.

Kind regards
Abhishek Singh
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So close to everything , was a quick cab ride to waverly station. Walking distance to the grassmarket and the castle. The room was lovely comfortable bed and a fold out couch for another guest .. there was three of us in this room and plenty of room.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jurys Inn
Thank Jazzystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhishekS4613, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Simpson Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jazzystuff

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a thorough review. I’m happy to read you enjoyed our location. We’re a short walk from the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and many attractions. Happy this suited you.

I am pleased to read that you were impressed with the hotel and got a comfortable night sleep. It is wonderful to hear you found our rooms to be of excellent standard.

Thanks again for the great feedback.

Kind regards
Abhishek Singh
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay! We made same-day reservations on hotels.com and somehow wound up with a free upgrade, hooray! It was a wonderful room and everyone was incredibly friendly. We could walk anywhere and everywhere from the hotel, so centrally-located...we clocked 14 miles via foot one day! Highly recommend and would stay there again. Thanks for a wonderful home away from home!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhishekS4613, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Simpson Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Vanessa H

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Simpson Townhouse Hotel and for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for us. I’m happy to read you enjoyed our location. We’re a short walk from the Royal Mile, Grassmarket and many attractions. Glad this suited you.

I am so glad that the service you received was very friendly, we do pride ourselves in excellent customer service and all the staff are working very hard to make each and every guests stay that much more memorable – thank you for recognising that.

I do hope that we welcome you again in the future.

With warm regards,
Abhishek Singh
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

A few minutes from the Royal Mile, we stayed at this hotel with comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast, it is located in a silent area so the sleep is completely assured. talking about the hotel staff they were very kind and helpful with us (they spoke several languages, in fact we are Spanish).

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jurys Inn
Thank sramon708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbhishekS4613, Manager at Leonardo Boutique Hotel Simpson Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear sramon708

Thanks for such a great score. I’m delighted to read you had such a good visit with us. We like to start everyone well for the day so we offer a wide variety of local produce.

We’ve an enthusiastic team who try and give each guest a special stay – great to read you appreciated this.

We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind regards
Abhishek Singh
Asst General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews