We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel for a break in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for a break in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Edinburgh.
Our hotel of choice was the Holiday Inn on Queensferry Road which is their City West location.
The location is a little out of town but not too much of a problem as the bus stop is outside the hotel,or a decent walk after dinner,taxi to Waverley station was £9.00
The staff we found could not do enough for us and this was much appreciated,thank you all ,special praise goes to the girls on reception.
We had breakfast each morning and dinner on the first night which was excellent.
You only know how good a service is,is when something is not quite right and the response you get,we had a small issue and it was dealt with efficiently and effectively.
We hope to return again and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royalanhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for you recent review on TripAdvisor Royalanhirst,

I'll let my team know you were happy with the service you received from them, there's 6 girls working here so I don't know which of them you met but they all provide excellent customer service to our guests so I'll tell them all about your comments.

Please do return again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    317
    161
    34
    17
See reviews for
228
207
38
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here one night prior to flying home. The room was clean and the accomodations were good. The staff was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Matt H,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we are glad you enjoyed you stay.

Please come again next time you are in Edinburgh!

Kind regards

Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this Holiday Inn with our two small children, for 3 nights in April. We chose this hotel as the price was good and parking was free, but it was still close enough to the city centre. It was an easy bus ride into the city. An array of shops are just across the street which was very handy. Staff were very helpful, we needed housekeeping to come to our room twice and both times they arrived within minutes. Room was really clean. We had a family room, with a large bed for us, in the bedroom area which allowed us to stay up while the kids slept on the pull-out couch in the living area. The only negative was that I didn't find the bed or pillows comfortable for sleeping, but next time I'll just bring my own pillow. Kids loved the breakfast buffet. We purchased the room and breakfast rate when we booked and it was very good value. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel provided the basics - comfortable, clean and quiet room. I stayed over the Easter weekend, and the hotel was quite full. My husband usually gets an upgrade because he is a platinum member, however when we checked in we were told that all the junior suites were full. We were given a nice room, far away from the lifts, with a fantastic view.
The hotel seemed to have trouble coping with the volume of guests. The toilet roll in our room was not replaced and when I asked the chambermaid for a refill she said that they had run out! She did offer me a box of tissues, so was trying to be helpful.
One morning at breakfast we were allocated a table (as is the usual practice) when we came back with our food somebody else was sitting there - she had managed to sneak in past the staff because of the crowds. My slow pace of eating meant that all the pastries had been wolfed down.
That said, our room was thoroughly cleaned every day.
This hotel is about a 30 minute walk from the city centre, but it is on a bus route and the buses come fairly often.
One gripe about the room: there was a sofa, but no reading light. This is often a fault of hotel rooms - in my opinion. Okay for those who want to watch TV, but I like to unwind with a book at the end of the day, and would prefer not to sit in bed to read.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lifts, and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looklovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear looklovely,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. I hope you enjoyed your Easter weekend and enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I’m very disappointed to hear about the hotel staff running our of toilet paper and would not expect this kind of thing to happen. I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27748559
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

People visiting Edinburgh must visit the resturant!

I am a platinum member of Holiday Inn (basically I live in various Holiday Inn across the country 4/7 days of the week, enough of me) but this resturant specially the Italian Bread, Olive Oil, Balsamic Vinigar and Grilled Bruschetta, Portuguese Tart were outstanding.

They were outstanding in quality, quantity, taste and value for the money. This compired with other Holiday Inn in Edinburgh, Norwich, Reading. And food and service here is much better then Hiltion as well.

Futher more the staff here gets simply 5/5 or 10/10 Udit and Emma are the people you want to speak to and get to service you! They made my family meal outstanding and they were so great that it was too good to be true.

And I had to visit them again, next day (my wife's Birthday). She chose to celebrate here as oppose the her favorate one in the city. And as expected outstanding food and service again! (i think they have good team here!)

Atmosphere in the resturant is great for family.

Here is to the next on!

Cheers,
abhi

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhishekChopra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#107 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West
Address: 107 Queensferry Road | Midlothian, Edinburgh EH4 3HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#58 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,473 - ₹ 18,341
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle in to one of our 101 modern guest bedrooms at the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West. Located over 7 floors and tastefully decorated throughout, our bedrooms in Edinburgh offer splendid views over Leith port, Edinburgh Castle or the scenic Pentlands Hills.Our rooms have recently received the new look Holiday Inn treatment and been revitalised with new bedding, soft furnishings and our unique pillow menu offering a choice of fillings and comfort levels to ensure that you get a great night’s sleep.The Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West hotel offers you an excellent base for exploring the famous city of Edinburgh, located only 1.5 miles from Edinburgh's bustling city centre and a mere 2 miles from the world famous Edinburgh Castle! Leave your car in our complimentary car park and hop on a bus to the city centre, it only takes 10 minutes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh City - West Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing